We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lousy service”
Review of Walt's Fish Market

Walt's Fish Market
Ranked #24 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, lousy service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stopped by one evening. Had to park across the street and then wait about 20 minutes for a table. They seated us in the bar area. We waited for service at every step of our meal. No one bothered to check on us after we got our food. We had maybe four different people wait on us throughout the meal. Apparently they had a "team" wait staff arrangement in the bar area, making no one responsible for us. I had grilled shrimp, beer, and key lime pie. Main meal was outstanding, one of the best I had on a recent trip to Florida. Pie was average. Service was poor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OmegaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    411
    140
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's not your Old Walt's”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been vacationing and/or living in Sarasota for 25 years. We used to go to Walt's at the beginning because it was one of the only decent seafood restaurants. Walt's (at that time) was strictly a fried seafood place. We got tired of only fried food, so we stopped going. We recently heard good things about it and decided to give it another try. It is MUCH improved and much changed. Their menu now only has about 1/2 page of fried entrees and several other pages of fresh fish, specialty dishes, sandwiches, etc. The prices are very reasonable --- not cheap but not over-priced. They have added a nice outside bar area with live music most nights -- the view is of the parking lot so it is not great, but it is nice to be outside and enjoy the people, music and fresh air. Overall, it is a great improvement from what it used to be, and a place that we will certainly go back to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbo_SRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you want Fresh fish. GO THERE”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

So. Being from England fish is rarely super "fresh" so count yourself lucky Florideans and visitors to Sarasota that you have plenty of choice. Walt's is pretty old school, a small space outside and a good sized indoors. Our server knew her fish. When we went they had 11 fish that were caught that day. Sure, they can hook you up with some imported Salmon or Haddock but c'mon. They have Grouper, Snapper, Mahi Mahi, Catfish, Hog Snapper and Amberjack. We shared the Mahi (delicious) Hog Snapper (best fish ever eaten) and Grouper (moist and obviously pulled out the ocean very very recently. The King Crab was huge and delicious. So take it from someone who knows his fish. For great food, very reasonable prices and good service get yourself down to Walt's. You won't leave hungry and the servers will take you to view your fish before you select it. I'd go back tomorrow, the day after, the day after................

Helpful?
Thank HubertAudifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood restaurants!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

One of the best seafood restaurants in town. This place is always packed in season and and out of season. The prices of seafood are really reasonable. My wife and I had the Justin steam pot looked good we got it Old Bay style as I grew up around Maryland. When the food arrive I was so amazed as it was two sets of crab legs, a pound of shrimp and a pound of mussles.

They had numerous selection of seafood and platters it depends on what's in season. The good thing about this place is you are supporting sarasota fishermen.

If you are in town stop on by I highly recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Expected better. Just your average fish house.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We kept reading great things about this place but our experience just didn't deliver. First off the hostess (young) didn't seem to understand our question about whether they had a bar inside or just the one outside. As she lead us to a table she asked if a high top would be ok. When I said No, in spite of there being plenty of regular tables, she didn't seem to know what to do with us.

All right, we're seated ordering drinks and my husband asks our server if they have brandy at the bar. 10 minutes later we find out Yes. Food, heavy on the fried and my steamed Grouper didn't match up in flavor to what we've had since we were in Florida.

Atmosphere is nice "old Florida" and I can't comment on the fish market since we didn't buy anything there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Fish Market also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Walt's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing