We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little fish joint.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walt's Fish Market

Walt's Fish Market
Ranked #25 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sugarcreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little fish joint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a cool place that sells fish as a market and a restaurant all in the same location. The fish is caught daily and tastes very fresh. The server's are very attentive and the Mullet spread and crackers that you get before your meal is a great addition to the experience. Everything we ate was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    365
    126
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Walts Fish Market & Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a restaurant open to the general public. I live in Sarasota and have been going here for 10 years and the word "wholesale" appears nowhere in their name or website. They have a retail fish market in the location and do catering along with the restaurant. The family that owns and runs it trace their history back to 1918 in Sarasota. The location is nothing special being right on Tamiami Trail but we have always gotten a good meal for the price and always leave satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KurtSrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veldegem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“for the fisherman !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is local,very local but as a tourist from Europe I find it very good. Waw, the snowcrablegs and scallops are superb ! And another good thing is that the price is right, I mean you get a nice portion of fish for a low price. Must go !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yves119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER NY
Level Contributor
254 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Probably best fish I had all week!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently spent a great week exploring the Venice/Sarasota area, and our local hosts made a special trip to show us Walt's Fish Market. Absolutely ordinary from the outside, amazingly familiar old style fish market setting to me from growing up on the ocean, and Absolutely Great food options. We had a great meal, with service from interested, animated, attentive staff that outperformed a few other, higher priced, 'fine dining' experiences in the area. A secret treasure, worth the trip! Our friends were soooo right!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yummy, local and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

great fish and other seafood, amazing atmosphere outside on the tiki bar and great fish market if you want to buy and prepare at home... this place has been a Sarasota icon for decades!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt's Fish Market also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Walt's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing