We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food. Average price.”

The Alpine Steakhouse
Ranked #198 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food. Average price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The food is average and the price is average. I would patronize this place more as a meat market than a restaurant. I just can't think of anything remarkable to say about it other than it has a good location on US 41, the main road here. I only remember eating there once, so maybe I'm not the best one to comment on it.

Helpful?
Thank Triple P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    57
    24
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasteless prime rib”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stopped there on Christmas Eve. We both ordered the prime rib special since it is a meat market and the Christmas Special. It was early and not busy yet so we thought the meat would be underdone more. End cut for my wife medium and I ordered a medium rare cut. Both were well done and tough and tasteless, no juice no pink. The mashed and rice were over cooked and had been sitting in a warmer for ever. We did not get salad or bread. I think everything had been sitting since yesterday. We did get a to go box for my dog and have decided that she deserves a better addition to her food. I would not go back or recommend this to anyone. It was NOT a good experience, this place is highly over rated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldguy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TurDucKen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

The smoked brisket it in the meat markets is the best east of Texas... The Prime Rib on Primed Rib Night is awesome. The Garlic bread OOOHHH, Yummmy and the TurDucKen is well lets say Deliciously Epicurian....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have visited this restaurant several times. Granted, it is a deli/meat market in addition to the restaurant. The meals are prepared extremely well. And, the cuts of the meat are fantastic. Portions are more than adequate and we take home the excess for lunch the next day. You wouldn't know it from the outside but this place serves excellent food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

There are a lot of mixed reviews but we enjoyed our experience. Traveled 2 hours to have Turducken. Overall, for a dish I have never had, I enjoyed it!!! My husband had the Reuben and thought it was very good. As for the atmosphere, it is a older mom & pop place take it for what it is. Don't be afraid to give this place a shot, you might like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-DBananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alpine Steakhouse also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Alpine Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing