We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco Cafe

El Greco Cafe
Ranked #194 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Greco Cafe is the place when you can have a fast lunch,or a quiet diner with friends,have a first date and make a great impression,or just show your dancing skills on Greek night. With two rooms it can accommodate large groups,lunch meetings or big birthday parties. From Lamb dishes,fresh seafood,pasta to pizzas and strombolis,we have something for everyone.Gluten free,vegetarian no problem. Chef Robert and his wife Gena are always present.They like to meet you and like to hear your opinion,so just ask for them at any time.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Looking for a good place to eat in Sarasota we found El Greco. We really enjoyed the Greek chicken soup and each of us had a different entree that was good. Certainly comfortable and reasonably priced. Portions were large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    82
    35
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good and Not So Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

A group of us went in search of a good lamb dish and we drove to El Greco Cafe in downtown Sarasota about 6:30 PM. Finding a parking place was difficult. We had a reservation and were seated promptly.

Among us, we ordered the lamb shank dinner and the leg of lamb dinners. Each entree came with a choice of soup or salad. We all had soup and there were two choices: lemon chicken and clam chowder. The lemon chicken had an odd consistency and was flavored with too much lemon. It was so tart that it was hard to enjoy. The clam chowder, however, was deliciious - very flavorful. I'd like to have some of that as a take-out item along with the great bread they serve with the meal.

The lamb shank was fall-off-the-bone tasty. The sides were disappointing. The risotto was uninspired and the beans were just bland. Same with the leg of lamb; flavorful lamb but not much else.

The bill for two was just under $50 with two alcoholic beverages, excluding gratuity. Service was good, but we did have to chase down a water refill.

Note to beer drinkers: beer selection is extremely limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I cannot remember reviewing a restaurant that evoked absolutely no emotion, but El Greco is the first one. Nothing was bad, but again nothing was very good. This applied to the ambiance, service and food. We cannot share the enthusiasm of those who rated it "very good" or the disappointment of one who complained about the tough meat. With nothing else to add, I conclude by repeating that El Greco Cafe is the ultimate in absolutely average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
689 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Good Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Every time we eat here we are very pleased with our experience. It's fun to sit outside and watch the parade go by. Service is always efficient and friendly. The food is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu, Good food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Walked by this downtown restaurant, which had a good amount of tables filled and everyone looked happy, so we decided to try lunch. I highly recommend the Moussaka which was sauced and spiced perfectly (nothing overpowering and all the spices blended together well). The Gyro salad had lots of lamb and was more than one could eat too. The restaurant is nicely appointed and service was superb. A great value in a very nice environment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakota3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Greco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing