We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Lunch.....Day after St Patrick's Day.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Snead's American Grill - CLOSED

Sam Snead's American Grill
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hillview & Osprey
Transit: SCAT (Sarasota County Area Transit) Busses stop right at our front door. Please check website for routes and times; scgov.net/scat
Description: Sam Snead’s American Grill was started with the idea that genuine friendliness and savory food along a prominent wine list would create the perfect mix of product and quality. Sam Snead’s American Grill is part of a fine family of restaurants that specialize in great food and quality service. Located in the heart of Southside village, this unique restaurant features memorabilia collected by legendary golfer Sam Snead. The casual atmosphere features the Oak Fire Grill using only locally cured oak wood. The grill creates the most unique savory flavors infused in our Steaks, Ribs, Burgers, Chicken and Chops. We proudly serve Natural Aged Angus Beef and value the daily fresh seafood and produce deliveries to preserve the high standards of our fare. When a group of local businessmen came together and dreamt up the idea of having a nostalgic atmosphere and fine American cuisine they knew it was Sam Snead’s American Grill that embodied these characteristics. When you dine with us, we believe in delivering the best service, food and experience each and every time. This is the way we celebrate, the Sam Snead’s way.
Pawcatuck, Ct USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quiet Lunch.....Day after St Patrick's Day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice interior, I like golf, so it was easier for me to like this place. We ordered lunch, like I stated, day after big holiday, so there were not many people inside. veteran server took our order and the lunch was great. I would return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Early Dinner was just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family was starving at the mall and my DH wanted to have a "nice dinner" so I made a quick reservation through my Open Table app. Dinner for 7 at 4:30PM. When we arrived there was easy parking directly across from the bar entrance. The hostess had our table ready. We ordered appetizers, entrees, and followed up with dessert. My rib eye was cooked a perfect medium and the Creme Brule was amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A stuffy old crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Not our kind of place, like walking into the set of "Cocoon", very old and not warming. Actually the movie folks would have been more entertaining. I had a scotch there recently at happy hour and tried one of their BBQ sliders. It was good, but not great. Service was good and no complaints. But we have been there in years past and tried it again with a walk thru, but was just simply too old, like real old clientele and perhaps that is your thing, but not ours. It is a chain owned golf themed place, and looks as such.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old Standby No More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whether Sam Snead's has new ownership, new management or a new chef, what ever the reason, the restaurant has declined in food preparation. The fries were undercooked, the rib sauce was way too sweet and the ribs themselves tasted re-cooked. The quality was way off. It should have been better. May try it again, perhaps for lunch this time and hope things improve.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great Restaurant For Food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just want to write a quick note to say that we have attended several functions at Sam Snead's

American Grill in Sarasota, Florida and can't say enough about their great food, their wonderful

assistance in accommodating a large group, especially by their G.M. Terry Hansen, and the

wonderful service by their wait staff for such a large group.

We have also attended this "fine dining restaurant" as a couple and have found it to be of

the greatest high quality - in food and service...we heartily recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salligator34238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's American Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing