We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Sam Snead's American Grill - CLOSED

Sam Snead's American Grill
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hillview & Osprey
Transit: SCAT (Sarasota County Area Transit) Busses stop right at our front door. Please check website for routes and times; scgov.net/scat
Description: Sam Snead’s American Grill was started with the idea that genuine friendliness and savory food along a prominent wine list would create the perfect mix of product and quality. Sam Snead’s American Grill is part of a fine family of restaurants that specialize in great food and quality service. Located in the heart of Southside village, this unique restaurant features memorabilia collected by legendary golfer Sam Snead. The casual atmosphere features the Oak Fire Grill using only locally cured oak wood. The grill creates the most unique savory flavors infused in our Steaks, Ribs, Burgers, Chicken and Chops. We proudly serve Natural Aged Angus Beef and value the daily fresh seafood and produce deliveries to preserve the high standards of our fare. When a group of local businessmen came together and dreamt up the idea of having a nostalgic atmosphere and fine American cuisine they knew it was Sam Snead’s American Grill that embodied these characteristics. When you dine with us, we believe in delivering the best service, food and experience each and every time. This is the way we celebrate, the Sam Snead’s way.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The three meals we ordered were presented well with excellent service. The server had a great presence and made the experience even better. Food was good and value reflected it. We will return on another trip to the area.

1  Thank Ginger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey A, Public Relations Manager at Sam Snead's American Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We are glad you found Sam Snead's to be a nice surprise. We hope you enjoyed your time in Southside Village. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are old or are into golf, you might like this place. Food is average and overpriced. Many more superior choices in Sarasota than this lackluster chain.

2  Thank NamasteSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey A, Public Relations Manager at Sam Snead's American Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

At Sam Snead's we value all customer responses. We review all comments and improve our standards by striving to enhance the guest experience. Thank you for your feedback and helping us continue to grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Place was pretty good. Even though it is a chain I was happy...service was ok. Crowd is a 60 and over place if you know what I mean

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank havinfuninsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey A, Public Relations Manager at Sam Snead's American Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. At Sam Snead's we value every customers feedback! We are glad you had a pleasant experience, come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The upscale casual atmosphere and wonderful service tell only part of the story. Two thumbs up to the chef for the best swordfish I have eaten in years. My companion made the same comment about his filet mignon.

1  Thank rampchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We love that you came to Sam Snead's and were able to enjoy the wonderful food and service. As always we love to hear about your favorites. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The food is always good.. But the Ribs are the best I ever had. You can cut them with your fork. Service is great. Nothing bad to say!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tpoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We agree! The ribs are the reason customer's like you come back to Sam Snead's. We hope to see you again soon. Summertime is the perfect time for ribs and our Asian slaw!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's American Grill also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing