We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Local Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dolphin Cafe

Blue Dolphin Cafe
Ranked #19 of 1,004 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
217 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Local Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Blue Dolphin is a "must do" if you're in Sarasota. It was recommended to us by a local for breakfast. It may be crowded but it is worth the wait. I think everything on their menu should be sampled. Their pancakes are sooo good. There is a small town atmosphere to the place -- not at all what I expected on St. Armand's Circle. You will not make a bad selection from this menu which ranges from traditional to the unexpected. Don't miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    172
    46
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No need for breakfast anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Since we started visiting Lido Key many many years ago this has been the place for our breakfast most days. Cannot fault it, the food is excellent, great value, keeps you going all day and the service and atmosphere is brilliant. Shame we havn't got something local like this over here in the UK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sand_dollar_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Blue Dolphin never fails to disappoint. Their huevos rancheros are outstanding & their omelets never disappoint. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Small, casual breakfast and lunch spot right off of St. Armands Circle with homey feeling and good waffles. Best breakfast in this area and so is very popular. You can sit at the counter if you're feeling nostalgic...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D_Hope7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“One of my Favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have been traveling to Sarasota for over 10 years now. Every time I visit, I must make time to eat at Blue Dolphin. Only downsides are tight spaces and moderately high prices but well worth it... including the usual 10 minute wait outside. Everything is fresh, large portions and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back next month!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Dolphin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing