We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Without a Doubt!”
Review of Blue Dolphin Cafe

Blue Dolphin Cafe
Ranked #22 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Without a Doubt!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Walked to the Blue Dolphin on St. Armand's Circle and it was delicious. Best Oatmeal with brown sugar and fresh strawberries. If you like Pancakes be sure to have theirs. Lots of fruit and whipped cream. Coffee, as with most places, tasted like nothing. Starbucks is not far away if you need a good fix.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaShells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    181
    50
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WINTER SPRINGS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable breakfast!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We waited just a bit for a table on a weekend morning, but it was well worth the wait. A large menu made picking just one thing tough, but we made our decision then kicked back to wait. It was a short wait and when the waitress set the plates in front of us, we knew we wouldn't need breakfast OR dinner. Huge quantities of food... If you're a log eater, you might want to select something and share with a friend. Husband had French toast and when his eyes rolled back in his head, I KNEW he was a happy camper. I had eggs, bacon and home fries - obviously homemade and delicious. We look forward to our next trip back!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeckiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast at St Armands”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Super food, service and atmosphere. Great food and value for money. Just be prepared for a wait at weekends, but at least you are offered coffee while you wait. Service with a smile- unlike the Sandbar on Anna Marie Islabd. They should send staff here too for customer service lessons!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr. Manchester meets pancakes & maple syrup, grits and Mimosas!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Visiting from UK. On recommendation, we have ploughed our way through the blue dolphin special, corned beef hash and some mimosas. The staff, the service and the food are in a class all if their own. The quality of the produce, the helpfulness of the staff- especially Jackie giving us the scoop on Siesta Key. The short queue speaks volumes of how popular this place is and it's well worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fortyluvcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Classic breakfast!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love Blue Dolphin! Lots of food with cheery service! Waited 20 minutes on a Sunday morning at 9:30am ... worth the wait! Good coffee, great "Blue Dolphin" omelette.. would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy333P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Dolphin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing