We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of Italy ~ St. Armands Circle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Italy

Taste of Italy
Ranked #716 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy ~ St. Armands Circle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

staff/owners very caring about their freshness/quality. putting the $ in that vs decor ~ tho spanish tiles very unique...clean restaurant...it was warm; but because kitchen is more open to the public than most we can see ...like @ home when the oven is on...its going to get warm...reduces operating expenses while keeping prices very well w/in reason. Cheesecake slice larger than some places & better than most. Eggplant panini VG ; house salad large, basic; but FRESH!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nhings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    12
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“way over priced for greasy mediocre food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

the atmosphere isn't much better. Grumpy red-neck type staff with no uniforms. Cheap tables & chairs crammed in a small place. This would all be worth it if the food was good, but the pizza can't even compete with the major delivery chains for quality and taste. Sad, but true. And did I mention how much your over charged for all of this?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Respectable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a Pizza Parlor that happens to serve decent Italian entres as well as pasta.
When we dined here the place was completely empty. We almost left. We two stayed and nervously ordered the chicken parm. It came with a salad and a side of pasta. The chicken portion was huge, the pasta was done al dente with a flavorful tomato sauce and the salad was crispy fresh. I may have had better but we were pleasently pleased by the freshness of the food given the place was empty and it is a slow time. Service was very friendly and attentive but then again we were it. We enjoyed the food and our conversation with our waitress and we most likely will return. Next time with the grandkids in tow.Can't speak to the pizza. Not sure why others found prices high here, We had two dinners with soft drinks and a slice of cheese cake for $35 plus tip. Perhaps the line of tables adjacent to the counter conotes a certain price scale or the comparison is to an early bird special. If you're looking for ambiance, go to a top ten place. There is no pretense here but there is a need for a place like this on pretentious St Armands Circle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watergate18D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

we ate here on night, great pizza, pasta and I had salad.

Portions are very big, the staff were friendly.

We returned at lunch to get a 16" pizza between 4 of us to take back to our villa, it was very good value for money.

The only downside are the toilet facilities are not good, they are shared which put me off.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbabeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wanted pizza after eating and spending big bucks at other local restuarants. We had pizza, chicken parm and salads all were very good and very affordable at under $50 for enough food for five people. We were very pleased with our choice and with the staff (hostess, owner and employee) were all great.

Helpful?
Thank Capt_T0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Italy also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing