We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice On The Circle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab & Fin

Crab & Fin
Ranked #27 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on St. Armands Circle in Sarasota Florida.
Jefferson County, CO
Level Contributor
258 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Choice On The Circle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Tried this restaurant on Saint Armand's before we returned home. Glad we did.

First, the ambiance is very comfortable and service attentive. I tried the pork loin chop which was flavorful and huge. The mashed potatoes were very well prepared as well. My caesar salad was fine and as an option they added a few anchovies to boot; always a favorite of mine.

The bread could have had more flavor which is always a puzzle to me when a restaurant can't bake an excellent version of an item so simple.

My wife's ahi dish was similarly generous as well. Given the usual rule of portions varying inversely to the cost at a white tablecloth restaurant, Crab & Fin earns some heavy kudos for breaking this industry norm.

They also offer a number of early dining options that are discounted 20%. Another welcome surprise!

We would definitely return given this first experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ObscureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    419
    158
    54
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good meal and the Service was really good. Will defiantly go back on my next visit. The Circle is a great place to hang out with lots of great shops

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great and then some good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The gazpacho was AMAZING. So so so yummy. The baked brie app was good too. Many had steaks...they were so so. The shrimp I had were also very good...the grits, not so much. The waitress was a little shy and reserved, so it was kind of hard to read when we asked questions. She also put a steak knife in front of our baby...not a big deal, but kind of strange she didn't think that was a danger.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stopped here for dinner after an afternoon of shopping at St. Armand's. I have no complaints. The bread and butter were very good (flavored butter), we enjoyed a nice salad and both liked our dinner entrees. We had a very nice dinner here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hipmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch on St Armands Circle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Crab and Fin is our favorite restaurant on the Circle. The best item on the menu is their gaspacho with shrimp. Have a nice wine and enjoy watching the pedestrians walking by. On a nice Sarasota day it is a real treat! Then visit Dream Weaver nearby for elegant ladies clothing. Ask for Nancy or Joan the owner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tloganmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab & Fin also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crab & Fin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing