We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm.....”
Review of Jo-To Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Jo-To Japanese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hmmmm.....”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Food was outstanding and so was the Teppan chef who cooked it ..... however, the smell of stale grease inside the restaurant was so off putting we almost left. And the less said about the carpet, the better .... If this place had just a modest investment in new flooring and a more appealing 'smell' as you walk in, I'd have to believe it's custom would double. Glad we stayed as the food was better than Benihana.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefy134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hibachi Experience Yet”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went with our family of five and some friends and it was amazing. The Hibachi Chef delivered an awesome experience and even got our three year old to try shrimp! The atmosphere, food and experience was excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Restaurant!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Love the sushi. Everyone is so nice...they make you feel right at home. Prices fair and food delcious!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank FlSunshine301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattoon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Sushi”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stopped here and picked up some sushi to go. It was some of the best I have ever had. The prices were very reasonable. The service was quick. This place was only open at night when I was there in June.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Local Picks Member
“Sarasota/Bradenton Best..”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via Local Picks

Always a good good time at Jo-To's!!
Have been going for years.. Always the same great service.

Helpful?
Thank A Local Picks Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Jo-To Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing