We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Service...Tasty Pastries” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of C'est La Vie

C'est La Vie
Ranked #156 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rude Service...Tasty Pastries”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I was told that after my $30 pastry purchase I could not sit inside or out! 15 empty tables and well after lunch time. I believe it was the owner herself who gives the French a bad reputation. I'm taking my taste buds to Epicure from now on.

Helpful?
Thank Shineykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    109
    40
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Satisfying Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I were in town for business and stopped at C'est La Vie for lunch. Overall I was pleased with the food. I had a spinach and goat cheese quiche and my husband had a turkey sandwich on a baguette. My quiche was very tasty, and my husband had no complaints about the sandwich except he thought it was a bit pricey. The potatoes served on the side were just little deep fried home fries. Nothing special. Next time I think I will get the side salad as all the salads I saw while there looked delicious. Overall I would go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous Brie and salads!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We visited this lovely bakery for lunch today. Actually, I came yesterday as well, with a friend. Both visits, I had the C'est la vie salad, which is packed with terrific meats ( none too salty) and crispy fresh greens. The flower shaped artichoke is a nice touch. This is one of the better salads I have had in Sarasota. It also has just the right amount of light homemade dressing. The Brie cheese is to die for. Make sure to order some right when you sit down, as the waitperson will bring out a basket of crusty baguette slices. The iced cappuccino is perfect for a sidewalk visit on a hot day. Our servers were prompt and polite during both visits. The gentleman who was working inside yesterday was extremely friendly. I can easily see myself working my way through the menu here. Nothing will replace Ricks Bistro, for us, for French fare, but Ricks is a dinner only spot and this lovely bakery is breakfast and lunch only. What a perfect combination! I can't wait to try more of their cheese. The goat cheese looks fabulous, so I'll start there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My parents live in Sarasota so we visit every-time I go down which is often as I live in the Tampa area. The pastries are homemade and wonderful, they are made in the traditional French way, just enough sweetness. The breads are wonderful too. Food is excellent and made fresh. The inside is small but not overly cramped so you can have a conversation without others listening in. In late fall through early Spring you should try to sit outside as the weather is nice. Service is efficient and prompt but in traditional French manner, so expect it and you'll do fine. The food is a little pricey but well worth it.

If you are in the area stop in!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
379 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Fresh pastries, Strong coffee, & a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The pastries alone make this the spot to visit when downtown. Don't expect welcoming servers, they do their job. That's it. Come here for the pastries, the strong coffee and a nice seat outside on Main Street. The inside is quaint but a bit tight. If you are going to feel cramped might as well sit outside among the international people visiting the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scbleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est La Vie also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to C'est La Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing