We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but good French atmosphere Bistro”
Review of C'est La Vie

C'est La Vie
Ranked #184 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Busy but good French atmosphere Bistro”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Right downtown where the action is..particularly on Saturday mornings thanks to the Farmer's Market. Opened only for breakfast and lunch, this bistro is not big enough for the clientele which keeps on coming back for the atmosphere, the French baguettes and pastries, the elegant menu, the overworked (not underpaid, we hope) and stressed-out staff. Really one should empathize the harassment caused BY and TO the staff: the owners are laughing all the way to the bank since they just open a full-time restaurant,i.e., breakfast, lunch & dinner, not too far away in the artists part of town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ntee6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    113
    45
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as usual”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stop in at this popular Main Street restaurant when I'm in Sarasota on Saturday mornings to go to the farmers market. They have buckwheat crepes on their menu and I love them because buckwheat is gluten free and the crepes are always delicious. This morning, they were busy, but not anything unusual for a Saturday morning. I ordered a buckwheat crepe with cheese and mushrooms. When it was delivered, the crepe was lukewarm and half of the cheese inside was not melted. It definitely was not up to their usual standards and I was really disappointed. I live here in the area year around, so I will give them another chance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Croissants like in Paris”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After my trip to Paris and experiencing outstanding croissants, this bakery's croissants are the closest I can find to match up with true Parisian croissants.

We had lunch there as well, and the our sandwiches on baguettes brought back more wonderful memories.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST CROISSANTS IN TOWN!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a great place for breakfast or lunch but if you want THE BEST croissants in town, you have to come to C'est La Vie. Try one of each, regular, chocolate, or almonds. They are all delicious. I also love their salads which they have many to choose from. Great staff as wells, always very attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TatianaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“French breakfast in Sarasota”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our party of four had breakfast at C'est La Vie a day ago. Our French waitress described the various menu items and we selected a couple of different dishes. The omelets were different from any we had had before and both were great. The service was terrific, the food was terrific. Would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howdydoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est La Vie also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to C'est La Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing