We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful spot for lunch!”
Review of C'est La Vie

C'est La Vie
Ranked #183 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thornbury, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful spot for lunch!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stopped by C'est La Vie for lunch on our last bike ride through town. Had a thoroughly enjoyable and very tasty lunch on the sidewalk, watching the cars and motorbikes roll through, and the ambiance of chatting with our neighbors. All the while keeping a good eye on our bikes...bike theft is an issue in Sarasota.
We'll be back for dinner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    111
    44
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Parlez Vous...”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

French ambiance terrific. Several of the staff and owners speak French and are more than hospitable. Menu choices superb. Wish they were open for dinner every night!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Met my best friend in Sarasota for some shopping and stopped in for lunch. The place was busy but we found a table. There is outside seating at this quaint little bistro but because it was such a beautiful day there were no tables available.The outside area allows pets. Sarasota is very pet friendly so there are always people walking dogs and have lunch with their furry kids by their sides. We found a table just inside the door so we could people watch while we ate. We shared a chicken, tomato, pesto and bacon Panini type sandwich with some fried potatoes. It was light and fresh and very filling even sharing the meal. They have a French bakery so we wanted to save room for desert. We shared a lemon tort and a cream puff beignet. They were both so good. Both were light yet full of flavor. Menu is fairly large and has a lot to pick from. Crepes, Quiches, salads, sandwiches etc.. The waiter was attentive and made sure we were pleased with our meal. Prices are very fair. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiaNFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Rude and Ruder”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

If I'd were not for the excellent pastries I would not give them a dime. The owners are nice, but they have some of the rudest staff anywhere, but I keep going back. If you have been there, you know. Period.

Helpful?
1 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good deserts”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stopped by C'est La Vie for a desert and coffee and were served by Alex who did an exceptional job handling our order. First thing he did was bring out water for our Chihuahua who was most pleased after walking up Main Street in Sarasota. We had a couple of pastries and drinks and had a very good experience. Good value for the money, great location.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est La Vie also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to C'est La Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing