We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must dine here when visiting the area”

Columbia Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don't miss Columbia's Original "1905" Salad(R), prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors on our patio, or inside our Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
SARASOTA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must dine here when visiting the area”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food is superb. The staff is friendly. & with the St Armands Circle location, you cannot go wrong dining here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARLA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,670
    1,033
    472
    184
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Cuban”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Made a special day trip here from cape coral for their wonderful salad and amazing Cuban and we were not disappointed. Damian was an excellent server.
My only complaint was that in the gift shop where I got 4 bottles of 1905 salad dressing and several Sangria mixes the cashier was looking for a tip. Cashiers? Tips for ringing me out? I'm far from cheap but I don't understand this and as I obviously didn't please her she put all my heavy items in one cheap, thin bag and looked annoyed when I asked her to double bag it. I guess the thick, pretty, handled bags are for people who tip rude cahiers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopperscloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the actions of our gift shop clerk. We apologize that you were made to feel that you should have tipped our clerk. That is not our policy, and we will be discussing this with all of our gift shop employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing Food at Great Prices”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you're in the Sarasota area and love tapas or Cuban style cuisine (or if you've never had them and are game to try), you MUST visit the Columbia Restaurant! We've been there several times, and would probably go more often if it were a bit closer to where we live. Every meal we've had there has been outstanding, along with great service and terrific ambiance.

The kicker is that, unlike many of the other establishments in the ritzy Armands Circle area, the meals at Columbia are very reasonably priced, which just adds icing to the cake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KreelanWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner and lunch”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just love the Columbia and one of my favorite places to eat and a must to get the 1905 salad. Love to eat outside and watch the people go by.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargeMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, gracious service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Whenever we have out of town visitors, we take them to the Columbia. The food is tasty, the menu varied, service is always excellent, and the location is ideal--near Lido Beach, Mote Marine and the shops at St. Armands Circle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MediatorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing