We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1905 Salad and Black Bean Soup”

Columbia Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 1,148 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 113 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don't miss Columbia's Original "1905" Salad(R), prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors on our patio, or inside our Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Frequent visitor to Lido Key and St. Armands. Have always found that the 1905 salad, coupled with a bowl of black bean soup create a completely filling meal for under $20. Cannot comment on the other offerings at this restaurant, since I always get the same thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,324 - 3,328 of 3,898 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Columbia restaurant's St Armands location has gone from being a very fine Spanish restaurant to a cheap tourist rip-off. The nasty witch of a hostess never spoke to us or even made eye contact - just handed the menus to someone and turned away like we weren't there. The Mojitos (at $25 a pitcher) were completely different than the last time - a smaller amount of cheaper rum than before, terrible sour mix, no Pelligrino water now. Cuban black bean soup not hot? The waiter says, “Sorry, we don't have a microwave.”
The 1905 salad with shrimp was ok but had too much garlic.
And try to get to the rest room - well be prepared to dodge a dozen waiters rushing around who expect you to move out of their way.
I am a local who used to love Columbia. Everything has changed except the high prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Denise917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

I had to double-check to make sure I was not reading a review of some other restaurant, because what you described should never happen at The Columbia! I am so sorry that we let you down so badly. A rude hostess is not our standard. When you were served cold black bean soup, the correct response would have been to bring you a new, hot cup of soup. We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests, but this did not happen at all on your visit. There is no excuse for this, and we thank you for pointing out our many mistakes so we can share your comments with our general manager, and make sure that these mistakes are corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband had the Paella, which was wet and the chicken was dry but he whom never had Paella thought it was wonderful, this is one of my favorite dishes and I thought it deserved 2 stars. I had the salmon cooked in Parchment paper which was extremely tasty and would definitely recommend it. The do sangria table side which is really a joke because all they use is a decent Spanish Sangria and squeeze lemons and lime into it. But we finished the pitcher so it must have been ok. Waitress was just okay, friendly but not very attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are happy to read that you liked your meal. I just want to point out that for our imported sangria made tableside, Torres Brandy is also added to give it a rich flavor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice meal. Service was decent - nothing to complain about, yet nothing to rave about. Food was very good. If I returned, I would fill up on the many tapas options and a big family style salad. Our seafood options were good and may have tasted better if we were not so full on all of the yummy tapas we enjoyed! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank powercarsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We last visited this location of Columbia's at Easter and did not enjoy the experience as much as we had done in the past. We returned again this past weekend and have to say it was very nice - perhaps being a little less busy was in our favor. The fantastic 1905 salad was up the usual high standard, and all of our meals were presented correctly the first time. My wife had the Stone Crab claws, as they have just come in season, and they were delicious! They are not cheap at $32 a pound, but they offer a smaller portion that is just right for a small meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mc2hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing