We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Chinese Food”

Shangri-La Restaurant
Ranked #324 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible Chinese Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

After hearing so many great reviews we decided to give this place a try. Before we visited I went online to check out their menu and prices and saw a coupon for like 20% off and figured why not? So we get there and place the order and I show the coupon to the cashier and she had no clue about it and didn't offer a different discount. Not a big deal so we get home expecting great Chinese food, far from it! The food was tasted bland and no flavor! For the over-priced flavor-less food we will not be returning!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tarabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but a disappointment”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Looking for a really good Chinese restaurant in Sarasota and went to Shangri-La after reading the tripadvisor reviews and was disappointed in the food. The service and atmosphere were fine but the food was truly just average. Maybe this is considered good for Sarasota but we will not be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Friendly staff, great food, reasonable prices - looking forward to returning. Sarasota doesn't offer much in Chinese food, very glad we found this through Trip Advisor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Chinese food !”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Today it was the first time we ate at this restaurant and let me tell you, this is the best Chinese food we had since moving from New York City. Me and my husband were amazed, it was delicious, everything was fresh, authentic and not expensive. 100% coming back !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divalimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Haze, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Chinese we drive from Venice”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Clean -consistent - & culinary excellence

We have have tried several dishes and not one has disappointed us
The service is wonderful
Friendly and helpful

We try to come every month

Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-La Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shangri-La Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing