We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent visit!”

Mediterraneo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mediterraneo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Washington Blvd
Description: With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening. So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate there last weekend, the food and the service is five star! The Owners are in view at all times and greet you with a firm handshake and they recognize you from past visits. This is one of my favorites if you want classic Italian done extremely well, you feel like you’re in Italy by the vibe and furnishings in this excellent world class restaurant. Mangia!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    90
    40
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not one disappointment.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had dinner there based on the reviews on Trip Advisor solely. The dinner was fabulous as was the service. Our orders were delivered without wait, our waiter was very friendly, yet in a professional manner. We ordered the tomato/mozzarella appetizer and subbed in buffalo mozzarella. For our entrees, we had ravioli that was a featured special with crumbled italian sausage. For dessert, we had the creme brulee. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Buono mangiare!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Another of Sarasota's great Italian restaurants. We were greeted by an Italian maitre d', who promptly led us to the table we had reserved. The reservation came in handy, because the room was packed with nicely dressed people.

We've been twice, and on both occasions the food was excellent, both for carnivores and vegetarians. The lamb, pork, pastas, and pizza are far above the average. Our waitstaff on both occasions listened carefully to our requests ("light on the sauce, please"), and the dishes came out just right. The lasagne especially was creamy and lighter than the norm.

The wine list was good. Our waitress on our second visit, Amy, was an excellent server.

Good food, good wine, excellent service, and reasonable prices. Not to mention that the location downtown is across the street from the movie theater. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Dinner from start to end was terrific!Called on a Saturday night and they fit us in a very busy resturant .Food was prepared beautifully and the muscles in white wine were perfect.The entries were fantastic .Overall A+

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ranger46AlbanyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Creative Italian in warm atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Picked this place when looking for an Italian meal after a long chilly, windy day. This place hit the spot. Good service, and a varied menu. Lots of locals here. Will definitely come back. The wine selection was good too. It has lots of outside eating area that looked like it would be quite inviting on a warmer night. I had salmon scalloping and my husband had spaghetti with meat (red) sauce and spinach. We also had a stuffed pepper appetizer. Prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank MsDeb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mediterraneo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing