We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo Restaurant

Mediterraneo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mediterraneo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Washington Blvd
Description: With its modern but classic Italian cuisine and emphasis on artisanal and contemporary Northern Italian style, Mediterraneo is often credited with being the first restaurant to bring authentic contemporary Italian cuisine to Sarasota when it first opened in 1996. Still under the same ownership, Mediterraneo has consistently been rated one of the top restaurants in Zagat. The restaurant has received numerous accolades including the acclaimed Insegna Del Ristorante Italiano awarded by The Minister of Agriculture & Commerce in Rome. With its highest honor, inducting the restaurant into its Accademia Italiana della Cucina "Fine Dining Hall of Fame." Mediterraneo has been rated as Best of the Best in Sarasota Magazine since the first year of opening. So whether you're celebrating a special occasion or grabbing a quick bite to eat, at Mediterraneo you are always assured the best quality food accompanied by excellent service. All of it thoroughly Italian.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived at a very crowded Mediterraneo, but were seated immediately due to our reservation. I wouldn't recommend going without one. We had read all the reviews that said the food was delicious, but the service not so great, but we were pleasantly surprised. Both our food and our service was outstanding! Despite the crowded, our water glasses stayed filled, the food came out in a reasonable period of time, they were attentive yet didn't rush us. The shrimp with homemade black linguine in a spicy tomato sauce was amazing! We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAC763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    88
    38
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at Mediterraneo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Friends and I spent New Year's eve at Mediterraneo Restaurant. Management & staff were very friendly and the food was outstanding. Originally we were seated in a high traffic area which was the only table available. Shortly thereafter a table away from the traffic became available and Management asked if we'd mind moving us to the other table. We appreciated Management's thoughtfulness. Just before Midnight the restaurant gave out hats, noise makers and champagne. I would definitely eat here again and highly recommend others to dine here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
438 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good food, indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've eaten here several times. The food is quite good, considering the competition and the area. Last time I had a dish of bucatini pasta with an excellent lamb ragu. So, we visit the place with no fears of getting so-so food. That said, the service, particularly the front-of-house reception, can border on the chaotic. It's anything but warmly welcoming. Perhaps if you are a regular you get great service, but we aren't that regular. The whole human side of the experience was perfunctory and bordered on incompetent. But, the lamb ragu was good. So, you have to balance things. The bar seating area is attractive, but the main dining room is rather ordinary, and the "back room" where the host tried to convince us to exile ourselves - "perhaps you would like a quiet area?" - is about as interesting as a bus depot. But, the lamb ragu and the pasta were quite good. So, go, but stand your ground if the "quiet room" is offered. I imagine you'll find the food good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

No reservation but they sqeezed us in anyway at an outside table. Service was extraordinary from the moment we were seated until we polished off the last scoop is creme brûlée. Thanks Mauricio. Food too was excellent. So glad we stumbled in. We'll return (with a rez this time)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Standards remain high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have been eating here for over 10 years now, standards are high and remain so. Service is faultless and the front of house is managed to perfection. Long may this restaurant continue to prosper, one of Sarasota's finest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeN593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mediterraneo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing