We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, indifferent service”
Review of Marina Jack

Marina Jack
Ranked #48 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, indifferent service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had dinner in the Dining Room upstairs with two other couples. The room was attractive with large windows overlooking the bay. Everyone liked their entrees which ranged from scallops to tuna to NY strip steak. I had the bouillabaisse which was the most flavorful version of that dish that I have ever had. You could tell it was made with a rich, complex stock. The key lime pie had little lime flavor, however. The service was frankly poor. Two waiters couldn't seem to decide who was going to serve us, they didn't know the wine list or even the price of a wine that was on special and there were long periods of inattention.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paradocs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    424
    202
    85
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Harbor View”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited again, as we do on every trip to Sarasota, and ate on the patio at sunset. Food is ok and the rum drinks are generous and tasty. Catching the evening sun and a warm breeze in springtime, while watching the 1% who moor their yachts nearby is worth the trip. Can be a bit noisy when a band is playing.
This is a place you must visit when in Sarasota.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Harbor Cruise and Great Dinner”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My reunion group put us on the cruise that included dinner so I am not sure what a meal cost but I can tell you it was fabulous tasting food. Prime Rib and Salmon was flavorful, warm and moist. The Caesar Salad and rice was perfect and the Key Lime Pie had a nice bite and almost knocked my socks. It was surreal float around looking at 5 to 25 million dollar homes, talking with old friends and gorging ourselves in a very pleasant atmosphere provide by the efficient service personnel. Reminded me of a mini cruise. No time even to suffer from Maldi Mira.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, often good music”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The drinks and food are overpriced as you would expect. If you spend any time at all in Sarasota, you'll end up going anyway.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Twp, MI
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic Class”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Setting up for a party of 16 and providing "couple billings". You were up to the task and more. We came expecting more expensive entrees and yes, they were, but they were far above the normal preparation, presentation and taste also. We were treated as if we were "royalty:, never hurried and never waited for a thing. Our entrees were fabulous!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Jack also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marina Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing