We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable food and location”
Review of Cafe L'Europe

Cafe L'Europe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe L'Europe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 1973 in John Ringling's original real estate office, Cafe L'Europe has become one of Florida's most distinguished restaurants. The original brick walls are enhanced with artwork from our Cafe Collection, distinctive archways, and Spanish terra cotta tile for a warm, relaxing old-world ambiance.Our award-wining cuisine and selection of fine wines from Europe and America strike the perfect balance of tradition and innovation that have stood the test of time and trend. Many of our signature dishes are prepared tableside for the added drama of a truly memorable dining experience.Cafe L'Europe offers indoor and outdoor dining as well as a temperature controlled veranda for the best of both worlds. Our private dining rooms can accommodate parties from 8 to 65 guests and we are open for lunch and dinner seven days a week.Our many accolades include the coveted DiRoNA, Sarasota Magazine's Best Elegant Restaurant, and Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food and location”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The four of us had a delightful time sitting outside on a Sunday afternoon watching the many shoppers visiting St Armand's Circle. The food was very tasty and well prepared. Not "too" anything. Just right. Service could have been a little better but I was the only one that complained. I recommend this highly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsie C, Owner at Cafe L'Europe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Café L’Europe. We are happy to hear that everything was “just right” for the four of you and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Betsie Coolidge and the Café L’Europe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    138
    86
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazed that this is #73 - should be in the top 5!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Based on visit in late February 2013 and compared to visits in previous years. The food at Cafe L'Europe is wonderful. I had the goat cheese & arugula salad and the sea bass with a hint of curry, my husband and a friend had the escargot and rack of lamb, and our friend had the oysters rockefeller and steak. As in previous years, the food was superb. We sat in the heated, covered patio area and watched the action in St Armand Circle, fun and much quieter than in many of the restaurants in Sarasota (noise attenuation is underrated in many restaurants). The service was good and they have a wonderful wine, The Prisoner, that is not available in many restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bagwilltravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsie C, Owner at Cafe L'Europe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed what sounds like a delightful evening filled with good food, good wine and good friends in an atmosphere conducive to enjoying good conversation. We particularly enjoyed your headline and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Betsie Coolidge and the Café L’Europe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“mutliple allergeries eat here”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The chef created a wonderful vegan plate for me.
There were 4 of us , we got there early before noon . A table by the railing and of course the sun. Did a lot a people watching as the weather was too cool to be at the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feather_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsie C, Owner at Cafe L'Europe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Café L’Europe. We are so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your dietary restrictions and that you were able to enjoy a little people watching on our beautiful veranda. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Betsie Coolidge and the Café L’Europe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best on St. Armand's Circle”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Cafe L'Europe never disappoints. The menu is not as extensive as some, but excellent preparation and presentation. The service is excellent. Truly professional wait staff. Attentive but not hovering or pushy. This is the height of the season, yet our reservation was honored with no wait on a Saturday night. Dinner for four and had the table for two and one half hours. We could have stayed longer without being pushed to leave. It was clearly "our" table for the evening. Plus valet parking right at the door.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsie C, Owner at Cafe L'Europe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Café L’Europe and we appreciate the shout out to our professional wait staff, some of whom have been with us for the 40 years that we have been in business. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Betsie Coolidge and the Café L’Europe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The right touch”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stopped here for lunch today. I decided to try the onion soup in a real onion and the pecan salad. Soup could have been warmer but it was pretty good. The salad was very good. The menu for dinner looked inviting. Great seat to look unto the side walk. Waiter was very attentive. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsie C, Owner at Cafe L'Europe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Café L’Europe. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Betsie Coolidge and the Café L’Europe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe L'Europe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing