We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #40 of 1,039 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Good basic seafood, nice water view. Had lunch here recently, the grouper salad was very good. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Love any opportunity to eat at a restaurant w/a water view that has good food. All to often the food is forgettable at places like these, but this one was good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    465
    154
    60
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We enjoyed lunch at Phillippi Creek on a sunny warm Sunday with another couple. We sat outside under the thatched roof. My fish tacos were delicious. The decor is not fancy, but all the meals were artfully presented. We plan to return soon as the service was excellent, and all 4 of us enjoyed our lunches.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandma_sue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful fried oysters”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stopped for lunch....we had the fried oysters appetizer (lightly breaded) nice presentation with wonderful homemade tartar sauce . We both had the specials, fish tacos...three big servings and blackened tilapia with rice both nicely served ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DayleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good seafood, reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a very nice lunch of local seafood and sat right by the water. The oysters were freshly breaded before cooking, fish tacos were amazing and the gumbo and hush puppies were very nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So sad”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for over 25 years, we have watched it grow from a bar with a few tables and an outside deck to the enormous place it is today.

How sad we were to leave after a lunch with poor service and food. The blackened grouper sandwiches had very, very large buns and a thin, dry piece of lightly seasoned grouper. The baskets that food has always been served in are replaced with plastic plates and metal pseudo fry baskets for the French fries. A poor attempt to decrease portion without the diner knowing.

The waiter took our order, someone else delivered drinks and food...other then that he came back to deliver the check.

Sadly there will be no more pictures taken in the oyster shells for this family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phillippi Creek Village Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing