We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu Change: disappointing”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #106 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
annarbortraveler55
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Menu Change: disappointing”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We don't go to Carrabba's often because there isn't one near where we live. So we look forward to Carrabba's on vacation. Well. Turns out they changed the menu and deleted our favorites! The salad with goat cheese (something like Florentine?) and Johnny Rocco...? What's left is just average Italian food, nothing special. Waitress tried to argue with me that there had been no menu change. Really? Not good form...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annarbortraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    122
    53
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
434 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Choose Your Time Carefully”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The mob scene tells you it must be good. However, if you don't like crowds, this may not be the place for you. If this place was judged on quality of food and price alone, it would deserve a perfect rating. Let's start with the food. We have travelled extensively in Italy and are very fond of Italian fare. This place absolutely proves that you CAN get a great Italian meal in a chain restaurant. Sit at the "dinner and a show" bar and watch the chefs work their wizardry that results in spot-on "al dente" pasta every time - served in as many special dishes as you could possibly desire. The veal dishes are superb. The salads are crisp; the soups are hearty - again showing that chains CAN serve quality. The service is rushed because the place at supper hour is a total zoo - with long lines of customers waiting in the foyer and out on the street. I don't like that pack of humanity feel and so..... we choose our time carefully - definitely after 8:00 and preferably shortly before closing - when you can at least hear what your dinner guests are saying. Romance? No! Quality Italian menu? Yes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay food. Good service.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had the steak on foccacia but they forgot the mushrooms and the italian ham. They took it off the bill but my son didn't tell me that they left half the ingredients off of his sandwich too. Lasagna was good. Took the chicken soup to go and somebody dumped a bunch of pepper in it. I threw it out. It wasn't even busy. The brunette hostess acted high. Our waitress was excellent.
Won't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been there many times. Great Happy Hour,Friendly Service and Staff, Great Food. Life is Good !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good weekend noon offerings”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Even with Snowbird crowds the weekend noon offerings are not too busy. Our last meal there was our best rib-eye steak ever, cooked to perfection. Drinks and olive oil herb mix are outstanding. Super service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkennedy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing