We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonefish Grill - Sarasota University Parkway

Bonefish Grill - Sarasota University Parkway
Ranked #134 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited here with a group while on vacation from New Jersey and requested three separate checks - the server was more than happy to oblige. I found that to be surprisingly convenient, since we never do this at home. The food was excellent: my husband enjoyed the lobster tails, and I loved the Chilean Sea bass dish. Would not hesitate to visit there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foxy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    132
    51
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Horrible! Went home and had a bowl of cereal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been going to Bonefish Grill since they opened their first restaurant in St. Petersburg FL many years ago. I have no problem with the food or the service. Both are always good. However, what I have a problem with is the way they rush you in and out. We have been going to this particular location since they opened several years ago because it is close to our house. All they care about is turnovers. I ALWAYS have to pace our wait/resse/ers. Tonight we were with another couple and I did not. What did we get??? Our entree 30 seconds after we got our salad and NO bread before either. That is ridiculous. This is a food factory. I immediately got up and brought my entree to the hostess stand, dropped it there and asked for the manager. He tried to blame the server but I would have nothing to do with it. He brought me a gift certificate but I would not accept it. Told him my only hope is that they would reevaluate their business plan and allow their customers to PACE THEMSELVES. It will be a LOOOOOOONG time before I ever return to this Bonefish location. Sad because I like the ambiance at this location but I have had enough of the rush you in and out mentality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
867 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“The best of the best for sea-food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Even fussy Consumers' Report lists the Bonefish Grill chain as one of the best in the USA. Wish we had some in Canada! Easy to get to, with a reasonable number of parking spots. Everything we had (party of 4 adults) was delicious, speedily served by charming, efficient staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It can get expensive if you drink but the value is good otherwise.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go For the Seafood But Make Sure You Save Room for Dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wow. It's not often I don't have a lot of words but, as my husband just said, from the appetizer to the entree to the dessert, everything was fantastic. When we are going to have a more expensive meal, we typically shy away from chains, however, we were tired and hungry and thought we'd give Bonefish a try. Wow. There was a wait so we sat at the bar. We were immediately approached and served by Chris who was attentive, friendly and made sure to ask (and remember) our names. We had the coconut shrimp as an appetizer while at the bar and it was excellent. We each had a special - I had Atlantic swordfish with pumpkin ravioli and my husband had orange roughy with crab - we shared and were both very impressed. The crab was the freshest, sweetest I have had in a long time. But.........honestly, the best part of the meal was the dessert. My husband had Jamaican coconut cream pie - I have never had anything like it and won't be leaving Sarasota until I have it again. The pie was mostly coconut, it was warm and had a warm rum sauce with whipped cream. I had key lime pie with a pecan crust and it was wonderful.

Top marks all around for this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honfleur28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill - Sarasota University Parkway also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bonefish Grill - Sarasota University Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing