We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Fun!”

The Players Theatre
Ranked #71 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Attraction details
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Affordable and Fun!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Players Theatre was reminiscent of a converted movie theater with what, it seemed like to me, was 50 seats in each row with no center isle. It was affordable with a range from $12 to $30 per ticket. This is possible because a lot of their actors and actress are volunteers.
They are a community theater that trains students ages 3 through college age and mature adults to 103+ years old, through The Players Performing Arts Studio. I only wished that I lived in the Sarasota area to take advantage of this opportunity.
It was easy to find the theater. It has a fenced in parking lot with a second lot one block away, as well as, on the street parking that is well lit at night. It is accessible for those in wheelchairs or with mobility problems.
We saw "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, especially due to the fact that many of the actors and actresses are amateurs. We will definitely return to this theater on our vacation next year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre - horrible play (Sordid Lives)”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

First of all...the theatre and the company of performers are quite lovely and talented. I would gladly return for another but different performance.
How anyone could find Sordid Lives anything but idiotic or a complete waste of time (and money) is beyond me. The story, if you can call it that, is so disjointed and ridiculous it was uncomfortable to sit through. The language is rough and the story is about trailer trash but it was all just not funny...not heart - warming...not remotely compelling. The characters were not relatable, remarkable or even likeable as hard as I tried.
It's hard to believe someone wrote this play...and harder to believe the producer felt this was a great fit for Sarasota.

As evidenced by the mass exodus of people at first intermission.


Sorry Player's Sarasota...you missed the mark completely with this dog.

I look forward to future plays such as your upcoming Dirty, Rotten Scoundrels.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Artwork Supreme Backstage”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you have a chance to go backstage, it is incredible with the artwork and murals that have been painted on the walls of this historic theatre. THe lobby is decorated with art as well, and the theatre is very nice inside with good seating. Easy place to find with good parking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very good local theatre”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went to see Carousel here, and they did a very creditable job. Considering many of the actors were volunteers, one could overlook the slightly wooden performances! The voices of the main characters were very good,and most of the production flowed very well.

The air conditioning was on full blast when we were there, and I was very thankful for the sweater I had brought with me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great theater!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have season tickets this year. We love going there. It is a great evenings' entertainment for a reasonable price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Players Theatre also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Players Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing