We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Strange Experience (Not Good)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasAntica Restaurant

CasAntica Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
CasAntica Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newport Beach California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Strange Experience (Not Good)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

. Our reservation was for 7:30 pm inside table which we made personally . As soon as we arrived things went downhill. After waiting for about fifteen minutes and seeing many being seated we inquired when we would get our table. Finally the hostess tried to seat us at a table outside which we declined.Our reservation clearly stated inside table only. She seemed to be over her head in trying to figure out the logistics of that place .After another five minutes I asked the women behind the front desk why we could not have the table that i noticed was empty in the next room . She indicated she would find out.She came back with the owner .He then proceeded to tell me the table was not available. I asked him why and he indicated he was saving it for any disabled couple who might come. I pointed out that since there was no disabled access to the restaurant and all diners would have to walk up about steep eight stairs at the entrance ( The restaurant at one time was a private home ) his comment did not appear useful. Finally he seated us at the table. After we started to sit down he went into a semi rage and in front of another couple indicated he would not honor any future reservations we might make. This speech went on for several minutes which included the phrase he lives at the restaurant.
The waiter was outstanding. Fully competent. We began to order and since we had decided to bring our own wine and pay the reasonable corkage fee of twenty dollars.The waiter noticed the wine was a vintage bottle and said he would be back with better wine glasses. When he returned i noticed they were not but said nothing. The wine was good and we had a visit from the restaurant wine expert . He gave his approval and came back with very nice glasses. We were later to find out the owner of the restaurant had given orders not to lend us the use of the better glasses but by luck we did get them.We both had fish Sole and Grouper both on a scale of one to ten were about a six or seven .
During diner I was talking to the other couple in the room at a separate table and apologized for the owners outburst . While doing that the owner came by and again indicated he would not honor any future reservations. I am not a psychologist but this gentlemen has big issues.On our way out we were told our experience was not unusual. The staff are not happy campers.This was totally unnecessary since we had decided at the get go we were never coming back and would have left earlier but it was Saturday and difficult to get another reservation..
During diner we heard a loud noise and were to find out that in a room next to ours a man had taken a water glass and dumped it on the head of another diner in the room . A pushing fight insued. We did not witness any of this but were told this . The above isa exact course of events that occured on the date referenced.Our check came to 92$ without tip.
I eat out every night and have never had any experience like this ever. The owner appears to think he is running a three star facility. Flash he is not .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank String M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    22
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
“This is a must try place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great food, fine wines, and overall superb experience. A romantic place, from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. you will be delighted with personal touch, awesome service , friendly atmosphere and the authentic Italian cuisine.

,Ask for Anglo, he was wonderful host.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kal13204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Poor service. so-so food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friends took us to this restaurant because they had been there before and liked it. However, it is very crowded during the season and unfortunately, the hostess forgot us. We were asked to sit in the small outside bar until they could seat us despite having a reservation. After 20 minutes, my friend went to ask what was happening and the hostess said she called our names but could not locate us. The bar area is very small and we could not have noticed her calling us but she continued to try to blame it on us. After that, they said they would seat us in their best area (an outdoor room). In nice weather, this would indeed be a prime location, but it was cold and windy and the tower heater managed to toast one side of us while the other side froze. The patio held one other table which obviously held guests well known to them since they catered to their every need while forgetting my friend's side order. The food was OK but nothing I couldn't get at any much less expensive Italian restaurant and the side of pasta was cold and store bought. My wife said her home made ravioli was very good. I think this restaurant benefits from a snobbish clientele which overrates the quality of the food. I am hoping our experience was unusual but must admit I was not pleased with the service or overwhelmed by the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, slow poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went with friends and were greeted by a very stressed overwork unfriendly hostess. She seemed fine with the regulars but didnt care much about us. It was a Saturday and very busy but
waiting well over an hour and a half for our food was ridiculous. The salads were overpriced and average,the pasta dishes and chicken dishes were excellent. I had the lobster raviolis and loved them and could have eaten more. We ate outside which was lovely but not enough wait staff our server seemed stressed for sure.The desserts were delicious especially the chocolate tartufo and limencello flute. Perhaps during the week it would be good but on a Saturday they did not have their act together at all way too long of a wait for everything and no manager or anyone came over to see why it was all taking so long.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cricket23chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here last night. We were very excited to try this new place as we remember the old Gabbiano's on Siesta Key. Peter the owner used to own Gabbiano's and the food was great! So we couldn't wait to try his new place. We were not disappointed. The food was fabulous as we were expecting and the ambiance was wonderful. All of the people that work there are very attentive. Especially Angelo who took very good care of us. We split the pasta special for an appetizer. It was a homemade ravioli type of a pasta filled with beef and veal with a great sauce. For dinner we both had a veal chop which was wonderful. My husband had his Milanese style and I had parmigiana. They take a veal chop on the bone and pound it thinner. They were very tender. We had a great bottle of wine that Angelo suggested. Everything was perfect. The place is very warm feeling. Very pretty. We loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank exnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CasAntica Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to CasAntica Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing