We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Nancy's BBQ

Nancy's BBQ
Ranked #67 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Voted Sarasota's "Best BBQ" 2012 and 2013 by the readers of SARASOTA Magazine. We're a locally owned, family friendly, fast casual bar-b-q joint. Community seating inside, picnic tables on our screened porch and outside in our garden area. Good selection of American beers, including artisan breweries, plus wine. Children's menu. Serving award-winning Pulled Pork, Texas style Brisket, St. Louis Ribs, Smoked Chicken, pastrami-rub smoked and chilled salmon, and 13 sides -- most vegetarian and many vegan. Oh ... and don't forget our entree size salads: both our BIG salad and our Southern Ceasar Salad!
arverne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was very pleased to have lunch at this restaurant.
The food came out quickly,hot,and delicious.The bbq sauce that they used was very good.I would definately come back again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank brusa419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    138
    61
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

fantastic slow smoked barbecue ribs, brisket, chicken and pulled pork, plus a great variety of authentic, delicious sides.
the place looks and feels like a real old fashioned BBQ joint. i love it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am giving an average rating rather than poor rating because the atmosphere is good and the décor is very good. The food however, is not. I was looking forward to trying this place with my husband who is a barbeque fan. I have to say that I am a meat lover too, so that was not my issue. But we left knowing we would not return, unfortunately. But knowing that the place has potential.

Parking can be tight, but there was parking on one of the side roads. We approached from the back and could smell the barbeque - yum! I will admit, however, that I am a clean freak when it comes to kitchens etc, and this one looked like it was the entrance to an outhouse. I figured it was part of the ambiance. I must say that I did not have any problem with the interior cleanliness and the servers actually wore gloves. The restrooms even were clean! Again that is not the problem.

I must note also, that the servers were very friendly and helpful...

My issues are with the actual food itself. Such a disappointment. My husband had the brisket sandwich meal and sausage and I had the brisket tacos. We each had a couple of sides. First off, I was NOT impressed by the size of the portions. I was actually shocked! I don't eat much myself, but it looked like the size of serving for a child! And with a bill of over $30, I was NOT impressed.

When we sat down at one of the "picnic" tables (good rustic setting), I looked across the table at my husband's sandwich and could not believe the amount of fat on the meat! I could not believe it! (yes, I said that twice) We have had barbeque all over the country and this is not the quality that we are used to. The macaroni and cheese was mild and not overly cheesy (probably the best of all the things we had). My tacos were ok. VERY small servings with a tiny tiny tiny piece of lime. I needed the salsa and onion to spice it up. My husband didn't even eat half of his sausage.

There is potential, however, I can't imagine how people are taken with the brisket. Perhaps he received an extremely fatty piece? Except that it was a few slices and they were both covered. I actually would be ashamed to serve that. The place wasn't exceptionally busy - it was 1pm on a Friday afternoon, so that was not the excuse. Perhaps we need the rolling rock for $2 as BigCanoeGeezer had...

Would have gone to Sonny's .....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camer-always-aready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was headed somewhere else, but didn't count on it being closed on a Monday. But, I drove by Nancy's, she was open, and I love BBQ! Upon entering I was a bit disappointed to see that it was a "fast food" BBQ place, but I gotta say the pulled chicken sandwich I had was VERY good. I thought the 2 sides I had were average at best. The beer was reasonably priced. I was in and out in less than a half hour for less than $13. They have a pretty extensive menu, lots of bottled beer, and I think even wine. It's not a fancy high-end place, but for what it is, it's pretty darn good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCanoeGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork and 2 buck beer ”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the chicken BBQ sandwich and the pulled pork sandwich. The pork was great, seasoned well. The chicken was ok- it needs a little extra sauce added to it. I wish they used a sturdier roll.. It was mushy and hard to eat with hands, although it tasted good. And yes the rolling rock was just 2 bucks!

Helpful?
Thank PalmerAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's BBQ also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nancy's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing