We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet little place with a great atmosphere!”

Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy
Ranked #15 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sweet little place with a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is FREE to the public but I think they accept donations. I love Whimsy and this House/Museum is a fun place to visit. It's quite small so it's good for seniors who can't walk for a long while. The outside makes it even better with the canopy tree covered areas and benches to sit along the way. I think they are in the planning stages of adding a Cafe which should make it even better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank simplysharon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    41
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A charming spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We loved every inch of this little museum. The whimsical art brought smiles to our faces, and we were enchanted with the garden. Even the ladies' room is decorated with fun pieces. Interesting pieces are everywhere! The museum is free, but I can't imagine walking away without leaving a donation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emb815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,349 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
“Very Worthy Stop! Art changed Annually”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had driven by several times and finally stopped at this great free (donation only) museum who's name describes the contents perfectly. They are only open Thurs-Sat 1pm-4pm. What a wonderland. We spent from 12:30 to 1 in the large sculpture garden across the street from the museum and back garden. The large units are each really special. Vern and I took 160 pictures in about 2 1/2 hours! This really a must see! Only open October through May, the owner uses the closed period to completely change the contents of the property, except for the large items. The volunteers are eager to assist with any questions you might have, or point out some of the smaller less easily found treasures. We walked around several times and saw new items on each pass. One room had three suspended wire bodies elegantly dancing in the breeze. With the lights out making sounds, like clapping or singing makes the lights in the ceiling come on in rhythmic conjunction, spectacular. There's a guard at the front so lifelike it's very difficult to believe he's not alive. Goosebumps and all. If I lived anywhere near Sarasota I would be there for each year's display. It is most totally whimsical, bright and fun!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Whimsy is the Word !”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

WoW.... we really enjoyed our visit last weekend at this venue. It was a cookie and cans Day. We baked cookies for all to share but guess what so did everyone else. A table as long as you can imagine was filled all day with great cookie treats. As we left they were still bringing them in.
The museum was great too very different in a delightful way. When you go, plan on relaxing in another world and sit in the gardens and let you mind unwind to a fantasy world. It is very mush a an afternoon of animals and gardens in a fairyland setting. Don't expect too much and you will be surprised.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lukesbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Understated”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just opened for the season, when I stopped by on my way to the airport. It was so pleasant to walk through and view various pieces. There is even a outdoor garden with sculptures and places to sit and take a moment to collect your thoughts. They say the next thing to get added will be a coffee shop with things to eat out in the garden.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank k4pana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing