We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoking Ice Cream treat!”

Sub Zero Ice Cream Sarasota
Ranked #11 of 42 Dessert in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Made-to-order Ice Cream, Shakes, and Italian Ice flash frozen by hand with patented process that uses liquid nitrogen. This process yields a fresh, dense, creamy product with no ice crystals or air whipped in. Choose a predetermined flavor combination or create your own concoction; either way, it's individually mixed and frozen to order. Bases are Original Ice Cream, Custard, Low-Fat, Lactose Free, Fat-Free Yogurt, Vegan Almond, and No Sugar Added. All bases are gluten free. Extensive vegan menu available. Also serve Smoothies. Ask about our catering services!
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smoking Ice Cream treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Love taking kids and our visitors to see the smokin ice cream made up like 'Cold Stone'- add Star Wars. Impressive production! All kinds of flavors and toppings to play with! We especially like the low fat mint chocolate and mocha madness.. Avoid the waffle cone - it's tasteless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy2ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What A Cool Concept!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stopped at Sub Zero after dinner while on a birthday road trip. We had never heard of this shop prior to stumbling upon it so there were absolutely no expectations. The store is bright and cheerful with the centerpiece being the huge tank of liquid nitrogen sitting on the floor near the counter.

The process for ordering is pretty straightforward.
1 - choose what size container you would like; small, medium, large or waffle cone cup
2 - choose how much fat content you want; from 14% milk fat to 0%. This is the ice cream base.
3 - choose from 47 flavors to add to your base. You can add as many as you like.
4 - choose from 33 "mix-ins". You can choose as many as you like ; the first one is free.
5 - choose your "chill factor" from soft serve to rock hard.

Here's where the science comes in. The ice cream "mixologist" will stir together all your flavors and mix-ins in a metal bowl and then place it under a nozzle where the nitrogen gas will flow out. The heavier than air gas will pour over your dessert as it is being mixed and almost instantly freezes it. How cool is that?! Pretty darn cool, if you ask me!

We chose a 0% milk fat base for our dessert and the resulting texture was more akin to ice milk than to ice cream so the next time we visit, I will be sure to try the premium 14% milk fat for a more accurate test.

The employees at this location were all very friendly and helpful and were all smiles. I will certainly return to this location, or hopefully one closer to home, again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David34677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is more about making the ice cream and putting on a show than the ice cream itself. Sure, they have TONS of flavors and combinations but its just not that great. Its average. I recommend going there once for the experience but Im sure this wont be your regular ice cream place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Science class meets ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I finally decided to go after hearing my friends at school raving for weeks. The atmosphere is great with the large tank of nitrogen. Little kids are fascinated by the gas sinking to the floor under the glass wall. I got a vanilla custard base with raspberries and brownie chunks. Some flavors taste oddly artificial like white chocolate, but the vanilla was fantastically fresh. Whether young or young at heart, Sub Zero is a must for snack, dessert, or a special occasion with friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
453 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Awesome concept, Really Good Ice Cream - and so Cool!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Finally stopped by Sub Zero after hearing about it for months, plus the Shark Tank episode. It's a pretty shop, with a wonderful staff, and obviously owners who care about their business.

I had the combination of low fat milk with cake mix, vanilla, and white chocolate (might rethink the cake mix next time. Doesn't really go with white chocolate). Had them mix in cookie dough and M&Ms. It was fantastic.

My kids had the premium cream with chocolate ice cream with chocolate chips, and the other kid ordered premium mint ice cream with chocolate chips. They both loved it.

The process of chilling the ice cream with the liquid nitrogen is so cool to watch. I'd imagine kids of all ages will love it.

I can't wait to try the premium vanilla ice cream (or yogurt) with mixed berries and peaches. I think that combo will be awesome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Zero Ice Cream Sarasota also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sub Zero Ice Cream Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing