We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Delicious home cooking !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Cafe - CLOSED

Gateway Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooking !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I live in Gulf Gate and this little spot is our new favorite breakfast destination .Everything here is always super fresh - there is always something yummy on the specials board . The homefries are especially delicious but everything we have had here has been great .The service is friendly and prompt - give this little gem a try !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srqgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had breakfast here today (3/23/13)...place is absolutely adorable and very clean. Food was amazing and our server was excellent! We love this little place and will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pittyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fresh food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We live here year around and have frequented this cafe since it opened at least once a week. Breakfast and lunch available all day. Everything we've had has been delicious. They make everything fresh, crab cakes, french fries etc. no frozen items from their suppliers. There are always new items on the board to add to the menu. It's family owned and they are there serving and cooking every day. All the staff is friendly and make everyone feel welcome. They have it all cozy atmosphere, good location, always delicious food, clean and friendly.
Sundays have been their busiest day but most other days you can always find a table promptly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Little Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband snd I went there for the first time a week ago. He loved the chicken salad. I can honestly say the grilled chicken wrap with their home made ranch dressing was the best I have had in Sarasota. It is spotless which is a huge plus. The owners were friendly and accommodating. It is a very small place with very ,very good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Best In Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Sarasota on vacation for years and came accross this place this year. Although the restaurant hasnt been open very long the staff is wonderful and the food is great. This is by far the best place we have eaten breakfast at in the area. Everything is fresh and homemade. Prices are great compared the other places around. We have gone with our kids and can you say family friendly. You can tell there is a lot of experience within this place. We will continue to eat here often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RDC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing