We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure about the glowing reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kazu's 2.0

Kazu's 2.0
Ranked #369 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Petersburg, Fla.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not sure about the glowing reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Yup, I'm the spoilsport. I'm the one who's going to say that the Emperor has no clothes. I'm the one who's going to say that Kazu is, gasp(!), average.

Now before all of Kazu's fan get in an uproar, let me say that average isn't bad. It's, well, average.

I'd been to the old restaurant and now the new one and honestly, I never had my socks knocked off by their sushi.

One a website, I see references to sushi 2.0. To me, it's more like sushi remedial class. The flavors and textures don't excite me. In fact, some of their rolls seem more like they threw everything in the kitchen into the roll with no thought to complementing those ingredients. To use criticspeak, the sushi wasn't harmonious.

Oh, one other thing. When we were there relatively early on a Saturday night, the noise from the bar area was really loud, so loud that everyone at our table had to stop talking every now and then because we couldn't hear anything we were saying.

If Kazu's owner wants to own a bar, then open one, where the more boisterous clients can go crazy. But when we spend our money, we'll take it elsewhere for a more peaceful experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StPeteSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
419 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Kazu's Goes Hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Always loved the "old" Kazu's on Siesta, and couldn't believe the concept change that they made to a dinner time, snazzy, sushi and drinks bistro. The concept works! First of all, owner Kazu is a master sushi chef. If you want someting that isn't on the extensive menu, ask him to make it for you. His wife, Akiko, continues to be a vivacious, yet gracious hostess. Secondly, the hip bar format is a delightful addition to the traditional Japanese food. The beer floats are a must. This is going to become an evening destination place for those who want a hip experience in Tokyo's Ginza style. Fun!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Going to be our "go to" Sushi place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tried Kazu last night. Had not been previously at their former location on Siesta Dr. They recently moved to Gulfgate, directly across from Vizen.
Excellent experience. We happened to be there early enough to catch their early bird deals. Not only inexpensive, but very high quality. We tried the sashimi sampler...............three very nice pieces each of tuna, salmon, and white tuna. Excellent. We also had the edamame, Shrimp goyza, and three rolls, the Siesta (the best), the spicy tuna (good, not great), and the crab lagoon (excellent)

Happy hour, by the way, from 4:30 - 6:30 (I think) is a great bargain. Most dishes are discounted by around $1.50............and, select beers were $3 and Sake was discounted.

Here's my take on the place. VERY good quality sushi, at VERY affordable prices, and EXCELLENT service. Don't expect high-end foofy..............it is a nice clean atmosphere, but does not pretend to be upscale.

And the service was excellent..............nice experience all around. We'll be back..............

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kazu's has moved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love the quality of Kazu's. It is our favorite Sushi restaurant in Sarasota. They have moved to 6566 Gateway Ave in Sarasota and are across the street from Vizen. Vizen has a nicely presented but overpriced menu. Kaxu's 2.0 has a new menu with many small dishes - no dinners. Most of the old classics like the Rainbow and Siesta rolls made the transfer and they were happy to prepare a sushi/sashimi platter when asked. Kazu makes great food. Coconut shrimp were moist and crunchy. The coconut was very flavorful - not the plastic stuff that is so common. We had trouble finding the new place because of all the old reviews on the web. Give them a try and you will not be disappointed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not sure about new menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I have always enjoyed Kazu and were excited about their new location. They have a lot more room, it is very nice, and I think will do well there. We went out with a bunch of friends we had in town, and with our visiting son. My son and I are not sushi eaters but my husband is a crazy sushi man. I found that the choices for teriyaki, tempura, etc. were very limited compared to their previous menu. One of my favorite items used to be their Bento box - I loved it! But it is no longer available. I did, however, enjoy the teriyaki chicken with rice, and my husband loved his sushi. To be fair, it IS a sushi place after all. Lastly, the waitstaff is outstanding. They were very attentive and friendly, and made for a great dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatIThink65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazu's 2.0 also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kazu's 2.0? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing