We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lot of money for a little of the basics” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Turtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Turtle Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lot of money for a little of the basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Since I am in the hospitality business I usually refriam from writing reviews. My instint tells me that by writing this that it may help the ownership group make some needed changes.

My GF and I spend 4 nights, costing us just shy of 1800.00. That is an average of 450./nite. Now I am not an expert but at that rate I would consider our stay to be close to first class.

Quiet, yes. Low key, yes. No kids (on the adult siade, yes. Nice views, yes. But wait, NO Maid service, had to take out my own garbage. No towel service, so I had to go get fresh towels (in the rain) from the back of the hotel from a "winter storage bin" that was bought from Walmart! No bed sheets changed. Now I am not a high roller but come on folks give me a break. At that rate you would expect the little things to be taken care of.

I added an extra night and booked the "honeymoon" room or what is called the only room upstairs. (What is funny is the Honeymoon room only has a Queeen size bed). I received a call a few hours later to tell me they made a mistake and I would need to stay in two rooms if I wanted to stay the extra night. I was quoted 299./nite for the extra day...and then billed 379./nite. At this point I said nothing because I was so upset at the lack of basic services I felt I should be recieving at the cost of staying here. I mean I could of rented a condo at that rate or for a few sheckels more!

Amenidities, well sort of. Only two kayaks and canoes for 10 rooms that were all sold out. 5 bicycles that were that came from WW2 . I mean come on folks show some appreciation for the high costs.
The "Hot Tub" in the honeymoon room was bath tub warm, small.

The kitchens in each of our two rooms were basic. Silverware stored in a galss, a toaster over that had to be used backwards because the plug did not reach the outlet! Absoulutly no dresser space for two people, lived out of my suitcase! A 5.00 Mr. Coffee maker that was probally purchased at Walmart. I mean come on, why not invest in a Kurig and offer coffee cups. What no Water! I mean go out and grab some bottled water and stick in the fridge so ther are some waiting when you arrive. Is that a lot to ask?

By the way don;t expect to get up in the morning and do laps in the pool, very small.

Parking, good luck getting a spot. I had to walk in the pouring rain and thunder from the other location.

Like I said, quiet, romantic and low key..but missing a few french fries from the happy-meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous stay at this very unique resort The minute we saw our private hot tub we were impressed. The furnishings for our one bedroom villa were perfectly charming! We highly recommend the Inn for its uniqueness and charm and want to take this opportunity to personally thank the owners Gail and David for all restaurant recommendations and advice on how to make the most out of our time on siesta key ! Next time we will plan for a longer visit! Star and Jeff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starletj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just stayed at the Inn at Turtle Beach, our room was perfect with beautiful surroundings! Loved the private courtyard and hot tub! Perfect for a FL honeymoon! Very quiet and relaxing with friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be coming back to this resort!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLCasey0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Quiet, romantic getaway. Exceptional service, excellent restaurant recommendations. Try the bicycles and the canoes. My wife and I had a relaxing stay. The property is located on a quiet part of Siesta key, away from the noise, yet close enough to drive to the action. The room was exactly like the website, and we never heard any neighbors. The pool had shady areas to avoid the sun, and the wi-fi signal was strong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not sure if the other reviewer is a friend of the family or what. This place is NOTHING like the website, or the owner's description. Cramped, dark room, with no view. No hot water (owner suggested running it for 15-20 minutes). This is not on a beach at all, it is on a small dock in a bay inlet. The swimming pool is very small, and wasn't heated. Walls are thin, you could hear the couple next door having a normal conversation. Internet was non-existent, the owner the next day explained that they hadn't updated their guest guide for the current router. In fact, the owner said, he's "had it with this place" and is leaving. The lack of attention to detail is appalling. We left after one night, for which we paid $350. I'd say this place was worth about 1/2 the price.
Note: If you want this area, the best beach is up the road about 5 miles, Siesta Beach. It's all condos, some are for rent, so you'll have to do some hunting. Siesta beach has great powdery sand, but the sand at Turtle Beach (1/2 mile north of this resort) is gravelly broken shells.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailkippy, Owner at The Inn at Turtle Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
While I respond to this review I am stting in a gorgeous gazebo on top of the water as the sun sets. I am surrounded by pelicans, herons, kayakers and newlyweds fishing off the docks. All of our cottages have free Wi Fi and hot water along with private courtyards and large private hot tub spas. Please read the review below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, this amazing property and the management was outstanding. The property was so peaceful and beautiful, there seemed to be something new to admire at each step. The view was amazing and management told us of the magnificient sunsets....The room was wonderful, and all of the free ammenities were just a bonus. We booked another trip a few months away beacause we did not get to enjoy all of the things they offer...so Thanks to all involved with this lovely property....we will be back...
Elizabeth & Terry

Room Tip: this time we are booking time enough out to get a view overlooking the bay, remember the rooms book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
2.4 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Turtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Turtle Beach

Property: The Inn at Turtle Beach
Address: 9004 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-2918
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Turtle Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Turtle Beach offers an exclusive private getaway perfect for your honeymoon, anniversaries, wedding proposal or engagement. An intimate resort hotel located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is just minutes away from Turtle Beach located right on the Gulf of Mexico. The Inn features a private hot tub with every suite, an intimate enclosed courtyard and private hammocks, complimentary bikes, canoes, kayaks, fishing equipment and beautiful views of the water. The Inn is a mere two-minute walk to the islands sandy beaches. Surprise your significant other with a romantic getaway at The Inn at Turtle Beach by booking online or calling us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Turtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing