We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want great UK food...”
Review of British Open Pub - CLOSED

British Open Pub
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Northern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I want great UK food...”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are new to the area. Saw a Groupon for this place and I said...YES!! But when I left the restaurant I said...TOO BAD!
We went for lunch; hindsight maybe that was our problem??
The waitress was kinda rude and very curt. Like she was in a hurry to not help us. We are always, "Hi how are you doing?" kind of people.
We had the crab roll as an appetizer..LOVE.
Ordered an extra dirty martini..great bartender! And let me tell you..next to Bond, I know my martini's.
I ordered the Mums Mac n Cheese with garlic bread..first it came out super cold. I asked her to warm it up a bit and she did. It wasn't too bad after that; wish there were more sharp cheese but hey it cured my mac n cheese craving, can't beat that. The garlic bread..GROSS. It was so old and hard and it had me asking where's the garlic. There was 3-4 garlic flakes on the bread but I literally could not bite into the bread. The peas and carrots were what they are. I took those home to my dogs..they loved them.
My friend had the prime rib sandwich. She was torn between that and the fish n chips. The waitress said the sandwich. She said she liked it, a little salty but good. She didn't finish the steak fries but said they were delish.
But as always, even with the groupon we still tip according to the bill PRIOR to the discount regardless of how bad we feel the staff are.
We probably won't go to this pub again. We'll keep trying other British Pubs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice place, good food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a nice lunch last week with my husband and father in law. We all had something different and were all very pleased with our choices. Nice menu. Service was prompt and friendly. Nice option when in south sarasota area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwitte1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of the UK”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were in Sarasota for another event and decided to see if there were any good Yelp deals. So glad we checked it out! Nice atmosphere - it was busy but not noisy or crazy at 8:30 pm on a Saturday - solid pub fare and good service.

We visited on a Saturday night and there was live music on the patio. Great musician doing guitar and keyboard with his vocals. It was a little cool so we sat inside and wow, is the soundproofing good! We were right next to the patio but the music wasn't at all loud or overpowering. We realized how good the windows were when waitresses opened the door and suddenly the sound swelled.

My guy did the Cornish Pastie - a golden-brown pastry pocket crammed full of seasoned ground beef, peas, carrots, onions and potatoes in savory gravy. It came with English-style chips and extra gravy. It was delicious and he was very pleased to see the carrots were fresh, not previously frozen little cubes. The crust was perfectly baked and had a delicious, savory flavor. His only complaint was wanting a slightly larger portion of chips on the side. Not sure if that was because there weren't enough or they were just delicious and he was left wanting more.

I tried the chicken and mushroom pie and was surprised to get a tableside presentation with my dish. The waitress brought a bowl crowned by a flaky, delicious square of puff pastry. She plated the pastry, used the back of a spoon to create a bowl and topped it with a creamy sauce packed with chicken and mushrooms. It was really good and just as described on the menu, though it was so rich I found myself wishing it included some additional veg like peas and carrots.

How can anywhere with HP sauce for your fries be bad? I second the reviewer that mentioned being reminded of London. Great little pub and pretty darn good, authentic pub food. Just what I would expect from a solid pub in London, which is awesome for a strip mall in Sarasota.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, fun music”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

All the classics - pasties and steak and kidney pie, fish and chips (try the deep fried mushrooms - we go just for them and a couple of drafts!!) And the staff are fun and there when you need them. And there's outdoor seating for some great local music where you can puff on a ciggy while you show off your inner Aretha!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NT34231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for a bite or a pint”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We are happy to have this as a convenient place to stop for a bite or a pint. The food is good and the atmosphere very comfortable. I was worried because Groupon sold a ton of their coupons and I was concerned the place would be mobbed, but was pleasantly surprised that, though they were busy, they were able to handle it. Now I just worry that they are going to lose their shirt filling the Groupon deals and will not be around in a few months.

Our food has always arrived promptly and everything has been very good. I am a bit of an onion ring freak. Theirs are the wide, beer-batter, softer ones. I prefer the thinner, crispy ones, but they are still pretty good and they give you a ton.

Helpful?
Thank OrchidSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Open Pub also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing