We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed”
Review of J Ryans on Clark - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
J Ryans on Clark
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Same owners as J Ryans on the Grill
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Closed like the four restaurants in that location before them....Is the place Jinxed? The rent too high? the location is not the best? who knows but they keep closing...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No better than before ....”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to J Ryans several years ago and it was terrible. We heard that it had been taken over by someone new, so we decided to try it again. It is still just as bad. The atmosphere was dingey, the silverware was dirty and everytime we tried to select something off the menu (this was early evening), they said they were out. After several tries, we paid our drink bill and left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMEPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
382 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“* CLOSED * - Understandable”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This location has closed. It is understandable as the food had deteriorated and the service was terrible. Unfortunately, some of the staff relocated to the Ryan's on Tamiami and the same problem will occur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCLBRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
“Thanksgiving at J Ryans”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the third Thanksgiving at J Ryan's and it will be the last for the eight of us. Five of us who ordered steak left the restaurant hungry due to the small portion. The salad was fine. No crackers where available for the soup. Bread was not enough for eight and when asked for more was told it was in oven. drinks were never refilled The moose was not available any more. The key Lime pie was very very small. The bill was the only thing that was large.
Joan D.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great new place”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have really enjoyed our dinners at J Ryans, indoors or outdoors, it has been a good experience. We use the Restaurant.com coupons sometimes for an even better deal. Check it out, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Ryans on Clark also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing