We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple menu but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore

Shore
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Adams Drive
Transit: The public bus stops within 200 feet of the restaurant
Description: Shore is a fresh new American restaurant with a nod to Florida's Mid-Century. Great place for a casual lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch in a warm, modern environment.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simple menu but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Shore Diner is at St. Armands Circle in Sarasota. There are many restaurants to try and most are fairly good. When you hear Shore Diner you think a small, old diner in an out of the way place. Shore is not that at all. It is large and very well done with both outside and inside seating. Classy decor throughout the restaurant makes for good atmosphere. I thought the menu was limited but they had many favorites. I had the meat loaf and it was good. A little more spice then I would make at home but still well done. The front of the restaurant is outside, the middle is inside and air conditioned, and the back is covered with a cover that retraces when the weather is good. I would go back to Shore Diner, even with the number of restaurants to choose from at St. Armands Circle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlewhitedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    329
    75
    30
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is great, food is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've eaten here several times. The feel of the place is very trendy and hip. The food is pricey and is good but not great. The open roof is really neat but when the sun sets it is so dark in the place you can't see your food! The servers are very professional and overall it's a nice place to go out with friends or family. I would just recommend they add more lighting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Another very good dinner. Now that it's the "season" - make reservations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have eaten several times and Shore, and for some reason, keep forgetting to rate this restaurant. Every time the dishes have been wonderful. It is lound when it is busy, and wonderfully quite when it is not the season.
Recently my husband had dinner here and the special corn soup was one of the best he's ever had. He orders it where ever we go all over the world.
Four of us had dinner last night.
We had asked for a booth, but they were all taken. Just after we were seated a booth came open and they promptly seated us in the booth.
The service from our waiter, Sean was wonderful.
The margaritas are very good and some of their infused vodkas are very good as well.
We shared appetizers of the smoked fish ... very good. We also each had a lobster slider ... excellent.
Our dinners were very good, the ribs are tender and meaty. The slaw that came with it ... warning ... is very spicey.
The fresh fish of the day was so fresh and very, very good.
The fried chicken was delicious. My tiny friend ate every bite even though she is very, very small.
Another got the chimichurri steak and enjoyed it very much.
Always have enjoyed Shore and never had anything we were disappointed in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Not many places serve breakfast on Armand circle . Across the street was an hour wait. Then we noticed the upper deck across the way with elegant seating and a dj playing background music. Yes they served Sunday brunch! Excellent views from outside seating although the inside was elegant and open as well.Very good coffee. The menu is eclectic yet simple. Skirt steak and eggs were done to perfection with a whole grain bread that was sweet and thick. The lunchy part of the menu included an egg bacon and cheese sand which on brioche. We added avocado as well. This sand which was tasty with ripe avocado quarters on very tasty rolls. The breakfast potatoes were crunchy yet soft with a very nice seasoning. Service was a bit slow in the beginning but the server made up for it with excellent service later. Food was very good with large portions including fresh fruit. Vegan items offered as well as a full bar with several brunch time drinks including fresh mimosas. Will come here again.

Helpful?
Thank cottysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
“Complete amateur in the kitchen and long waits--nice ambiance though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Tonight my wife and I went to Shore on St. Armand's Circle in Sarasota, FL. We both ordered ribs, but the chef clearly overlooked one of the two orders. Rather than just simply buy us a drink and start over, the cool chopped the burnt rack in half and put it under the half that was properly cooked. The amateurism and dishonesty was a little too much. I don't recommend this restaurant because after waiting nearly an hour (yes, the restaurant only takes reservations for 6 or more) we ate some BLACKENED ribs that the cook wasn't even intelligent enough to acknowledge--so lazy and unprofessional. At $30 per entrée, there are better options in Sarasota. Shore has a great location and ambiance, but the cook is a complete amateur and unscrupulous. Go to Maison Blanche, Pomona Bistro, Michael's On East, or Vizen if you want world class food for the same price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IknowFoodMrSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shore D, Manager at Shore, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I would like to apologize for the recent experience you had while dining at Shore Diner. First and foremost we try to achieve total customer satisfaction and we obviously let you down. I am sorry again for that. Please know that we start each and every day and shift with one goal: Make the experience the best it can be for our guests. I understand that we can never have a perfect shift, but my job is to ensure it's as perfect as possible. Please accept my offer to come back and give us another try as we would hate to lose you as a customer for good. We know that there are many options in and around Sarasota to dine and I know that we have one of the best there is.

Please send me your address via email to Shorediner@gmail.com so I may send you a gift certificate to dine with us again soon.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing