We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Casual - good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mozzarella Fella

Mozzarella Fella
Ranked #6 of 1,004 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mozzarella Fella is a great place opened lunch in downtown Sarasota just east of Orange avenue. You can watch the owner make fresh Mozzarella, then enjoy it! I ordered a ball of Mozzarella to go and made my own Insalata Caprese when I got home. I also sampled the sausage and peppers which were excellent and a had a connoli which was wonderful.
Co. Louth - Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Casual - good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Liked the good quality food at reasonable prices. Most diners are taking a quick lunch which is served in polystrene to eat in or take out. We were at our leisure and requested plates, proper cutlery and enjoed a bottle of wine. lunch for 2 including bottle of wine andstarter, main course , coffee and a cannoli - 60usd - thats value - but it is CASUAL

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    78
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where were you when...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The restaurant was recommended and we knew it would be interesting when we stepped inside. It looked like three generations were running the place. It was busy even though it was well well after a traditional lunch time. And there were police eating there, always a good sign.

We ordered a chicken and a veal sandwich. They were both superb. The sauces were delicious; the cheese tasted fresh; and the bread was from a baker who knows how to bake high quality loaves.

But the excitement of the day was the news of the selection of a new Pope. All eyes were glued on the large screen TV as we all ate fabulous food and enjoyed the conversation which involved the whole restaurant.

A memorable event that won't repeat itself but I bet the food stays great all the time judging from the other reviews. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROMWELL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The place to get a sandwich .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have a family rule not to go back to eat at a place twice during our vacation. I could not keep my kids out of "The Fella". All the sandwiches were fresh and tasty. We enjoyed both hot and cold selections. The freshness of the meats, cheeses and veggies were the key. The salads were also family favorites. The menu will meet the desire of the whole family

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RonPam673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You'll break somebody's legs just to get in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just love this place; it takes you back to all the great places in New York and New Jersey, fresh well done food! The family atmosphere makes you feel like a “Made Guy” And Vicky, Mike and Johnnie will have you coming back for sure! So after your next hit, drop in for a piece of home! Mangia!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Family owned and delicious deli style Italian joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good about this place...it was family owned and ran and incredibly pleasant to grab lunch. On top of all of that - it is great food. Ww were doing a local art festival so we would go in and order sandwiches for lunch. Hearty and good. Not a wimpy sandwih at all. The antipasta salad was great. All made really fresh and a friendly person taking your order. It is somewhat small but they have tables if eating there and window seats. The decor is great and adds to it. Local articles and memorabilia about Italy and Italian food. Just comfortable and good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SAWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozzarella Fella also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mozzarella Fella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing