We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5730 Gantt Road, (off Clark and I-75), Sarasota, FL 34233 (Formerly Siesta Key East Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've been coming to Siesta Key for many years and always stay at a motel prior to moving in, This is the best we've been to. Our room had a sitting area, a king bed, two flat screen TVs, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a very comfortable mattress. It was a little pricier than some but worth the extra money. It was also quiet which was an improvement over some we've had. There were toiletries in the bathroom and everything was clean. Management was very welcoming. The free breakfast was typical of these motels but it's always crowded...at least at this time of year. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year.

Room Tip: We always get a reservation ahead of time which would be helpful in finding the hotel. It is off Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamajo345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East. I appreciate the 4 star rating that you gave the hotel. Also very happy to hear that you will be returning to the hotel the next time you are in the area... Great!!!

Also very happy to hear that we are the best, that you have been to since traveling to the Sarasota area.

So thank you for the review, I truly do appreciate it. We hope to see you back the next time you will need a hotel room in the Sarasota area.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
42
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a completely serviceable hotel. A few things would be easy fixes, though. First, the rooms are clean but a bit smelly. The sheets cover a mattress pad that at some point must be plastic, so it feels like you are sleeping on a baby mattress. (I don't wet the bed, promise!) Very uncomfortable. There are very few toiletries; no shower cap, glass or mouthwash.

The fitness room has some old equipment, which I would not mind, except there is no mat to use for sit ups or anything; just a hard floor. And the remote for the TV doesn't work.
Most of these things are inexpensive fixes.

Clean and reasonable. Also, no late night food or super decent deliveries. No extra blanket.

Room Tip: the room with a king is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East. I appreciate the comments that were made.

Regarding the comments that were made about needing mats in the gym. That is definitely something I can look at. I have not had this request before so I can look into getting a couple of yoga mats.

With regards to the extra toiletries, we do have all that available, it is just of our "Forget Something" program and we have that available behind the front desk.

I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to the Sarasota area, that we will be your first choice for a hotel to stay at. Hopefully than we will be able to "Wow" you with our service and amenties.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, I do appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
303 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while visiting family in the area. Free breakfast is pretty poor but I guess that's ok because it is free. Coffee is terrible! Couldn't drink it! Guest room was clean and pretty comfortable. Hot water was being serviced and there was no hot water for at least 24 hrs. The water was supposed to be on by 5pm then didn't get back on until the next day and then it was cold.
Overall an ok place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate the comments that you made in your review. I am sorry though that we did not "wow" you or that you left here feeling this was a hotel that you "loved". It is always our goal to have all our guest leave here feeling this was a "great hotel that guest love"

It is true we have had some hot water issues as of late, we had a couple of pipes burst in the hotel that effected the hot water only. We truly are sorry for all the inconveniences that this caused our guest.

I do hope that if you are in the Sarasota area again, that you would give us another try. I know there are many choices for travlers to make for their hotel needs and it is important to us that we have all our past guest come back.

Thank you for staying with us, I do appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

After my hubby and I checked into a disgusting other big chain hotel five miles down the road, we immediately started searching for another hotel. Being that this is Christmas week, much like Mary and Joseph we kept running into "no vacancy." Trouble in paradise.

For whatever reason, there was a little room left here and we jumped on it. The rooms are clean, free wifi, free breakfast, the things you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

I have three reasons I would not give this hotel 5 stars, even by Holiday Inn standards. The hotel is pet friendly, and we are surrounded by yippy dogs. I love my hound dog, but part of going on vacay is NOT dealing with doggie for a week. I would appreciate if the hotel designated one floor for pets so the rest of us traveling sans fido aren't yipped at.

Secondly, the doors do not have that fabulous anti slam contraption that most hotels have (ironically, their stairwells DO have them). Our next door neighbor keeps slamming to his little hearts delight and jarring me out of my nice vacation sleep. Rude. He just so happens to also be one of the yippy dog owners, so the slam has an encore of yips.

Lastly, the cable package is pretty cheesy. No Bravo, Food Network or HGTV. That's a must in all good hotels in my humble opinion.

All of these are super fixable issues for the hotel, and if addresses would turn my four stars into five- by Holiday Inn standards of course.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota. I appreciate the comments and voicing your concerns regarding my hotel.

My apologies for the less than perfect stay. Regarding some of the comments that you noted. I will have my staff look into some of the door closures that are not properly working and get those corrected. I am also changing up some of the television line up and one of the channels that will be added is HGTV and History Channel there are also a couple of other additions that we will be adding to the line up as well.

I do hope that you will visit Sarasota again and that the Holiday Inn Express will be your choice for a hotel to stay and that we will be able to get that 5 star rating from you.

Again, thank you for bringing some of your concerns to my attention, I do appreciate it.

Sincerley
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. It was my second stay and found the staff members to be very helpful. I was recognized as a rewards member and was thanked for my loyalty. Our meeting was held at the hotel and the room worked out great. Having the breakfast in the morning included made it easy to grab a bite to eat before the meeting started and one less thing to expense. The front desk gave us information on St. Armands Circle where we went for dinner. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySideUp0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear SunnySideUp0506;

Thank you for the great review, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and post it on Tripadvisor.com .

It is always great to hear compliments regarding my staff during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East.

Happy to hear that your meeting went well and was successful.

Again, thank you for posting a review of the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota, I truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
313 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with our dog. The staff was very friendly and willing to do anything to help us and make us feel welcome. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. Breakfast was especially good and the cookies in the lobby at night were great. The cleaning staff were all very friendly and accommodating also.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating on tripadvisor, I truly appreciate your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found my staff very helpful. Yes the cookies are a big hit during the evening hours.

I just wanted to take a moment and again thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I really appreciate the comments. I look forward to your return visit to the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East the next time your travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city, florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is not a new property but it is clean and the operators are making an effort to keep the property in good repair. The hotel is newly painted and everything is very clean. There are needed repairs in the rooms that i have to make note of. Electrical plug inn sockets are worn out and really need to be replaced. The lamp on the desk has 2 electrical sockets and neither of them were operable. The air conditioner in my room was particular noisy, worked well with cold air but the dryer did not. It was cold wet air that became more irritating than comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitstop53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota. I appreciate the comments you made and thank you.

I am sorry that we fully did not meet your expectations, if you could please email me at rpardine@hiesarasota.com to please give me the room number that you stayed in while here, I would greatly appreciate it, so we can make those needed repairs.

Thank you for recognizing the fact that we are making every effort to ensure our guest have a great stay while here, that we are doing a lot of work in the guest rooms to ensure guest satisfaction.

I do hope to hear from you so we can make those needed repairs. I also do hope that when your travels bring you to the Sarasota area, that we will be your first choice for a hotel to stay at.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review my hotel on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
4.4 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
7.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75
Address: 5730 Gantt Road, (off Clark and I-75), Sarasota, FL 34233 (Formerly Siesta Key East Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to beautiful Sarasota, FL for business or pleasure we want to make sure you are relaxed and rejuvenated for whatever adventures you have planned. Come experience the perfect location of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites, convenient to most Sarasota/Venice destinations. Located just 4 miles from Siesta Key and the beaches, we are surrounded by restaurants and shopping but still close to downtown and other area attractions. We offer standard all inside corridor rooms and 1 bedroom suites, king and 2 queen bedded guestrooms all with complimentary WI-FI, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, and last but not least, our HOT , DELICIOUS, DELUXE BREAKFAST is INCLUDED with your stay every day. Relax in our heated pool or hot tub or enjoy fresh brewed coffee and catch the news on our 50" HD TV in the lobby during the day. PETS welcome, ALL NON SMOKING AAA - 3 diamonds approved property. Unsurpassed customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Key East Hotel Sarasota
Country Inn Sarasota
Sarasota Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing