We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coquina On The Beach
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“As Expected - Great Value”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Have stayed at Coquina dozens of times. Still a great hidden value on a great beach. Staff excellent. Rooms can be old but are extremely clean. Will return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    39
    21
    12
See reviews for
119
82
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield, west midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We recently returned from a visit to Florida. We have stayed at the Coquina on the Beach over 10 times and this year were very pleasantly surprised to find that the property had been renovated. We stayed in a poolside apartment on the ground floor with a king size bed just before the beach. It had its own patio with sunloungers and was of a good size with an adequate kitchen. The beach is very good with many shells. On the beach there are 2 tiki huts for guests and many sunloungers. Amy on the front desk has always been an asset to the hotel, her friendliness and professionalism cannot be equalled. This year we were very pleased to find that two new members of the reception staff, Shannon and Kevin were very helpful too. We love coming to the Coquina and cannot wait to return next year. It has a relaxing atmosphere and unique charm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanj0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We travelled there with a group and so we were out of our room much of the time, which is good because our room was poolside on the second floor and not renovated. The bathroom was in rough shape. Some of our travelling companions had more updated rooms and if I judged the property by their room, I would have liked it. It was raining when we went upstairs to our room and there is not cover over the walkways so we felt like we were going into a trailer. The proximity to St. Armand's Key , the beach were great, the beds were comfortable, and the facilities were in working order. There isn't really a good spot for a group to congregate, and there isn't very good outdoor grills, to speak of, so I wouldn't recommend this place for a group but if you got a renovated room on the first floor, it is adequate for the price, if you are just looking for an overnight place to crash while hanging out on the beach or going to St. Armands. Also, it is pet friendly so there are dogs everywhere, if you are okay with that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMCC_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASSELBERRY
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have been coming to Coquina on the Beach for over eight years and just love it! The small, coziness of the hotel is just awesome. The rooms are clean, neat, and the luxury of getting coffee and a newspaper every morning from the office is a nice perk. The room has all the necessities of home: including a kitchen with a microwave and toaster. We dined in and dined out and love that option. Amy and the staff are always willing to lend an ear and help you with any questions. The personal attention given us each time we go there continues and never lets us down. The hotel is right on the Gulf which is what we love, there is a clean pool, picnic tables for a bar-b-q, towels provided for the beach/pool as well as lounge chairs for your convenience. Coquina is our therapy and we look forward to going each time. We were lucky to see dolphins several times on this trip, as well as heron and pelicans. All of the guests we got to speak to all said nothing but good words about Coquina on the Beach. Attached are some pictures from our recent stay. Of course, we plan on coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We loved having a room just steps away from the hotel pool, and not much further away from the nice white sandy beach. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Suite, with the King in the Bedroom, 2 of my kids on the sofa sleeper, and the 3rd child on a rollaway - it works out just fine. Nice open space in the hotel room for this family of 5 to move around, and we loved being in the pool, on the beach, and a short drive to St Armands shopping and the Starbucks! The staff at Coquina (Amy! Amy!) were all very accommodating, trying to help us with an early check in, a late check out, and permitting us to have friends join us for a celebration the evening we stayed there. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice laid back place. Dont come expecting the Ritz, but come to relax, have courteous service, and put your feet in the sand. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcuffaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The location was great, the room however was not. As for being one of the newly renovated rooms, I was disappointed to see paint and plaster falling in the shower and stained ceilings. The blinds in the bedroom were broken and dirty would not close all the way. The staff was helpful with towels and such. I felt the room was not worth the price we paid. As some of the other post state its due for an upgrade. The location is great, as well as the pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigarettetopgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommymissy27
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We just returned from staying at Coquina and have mixed feelings.

The location couldn't be better! That alone makes it worth considering when looking for a place to stay.

However, it is extremely dated and showing it's age. Part of the wall in our bathroom was rotted out and there was a moderate amount of mildew on the bathroom window. There was a funky, musty, smell in the room. There were also several small holes in the wall behind our bed. We also found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable!

That being said the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The other guest were extremely nice. Coquina had a more homey feeling then you'd get at a big chain hotel.

I really don't think it was worth $200 a night though! Especially when out of I checked the prices of the Helmsley Sandcastle a few doors down. It was $250 a night and I would venture to guess that guests there felt like they got their monies worth!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommymissy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
187 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Property: Coquina On The Beach
Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing