We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Coquina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coquina On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coquina On The Beach to your Saves list
Coquina On The Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1008 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Love Coquina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been staying at Coquina on the Beach for over 30 years and will continue to stay here. This is not an elaborate resort but we love it. It is located directly on the beach. All rooms have full kitchens. It is clean, in an excellent location, friendly staff, pet friendly, and reasonable rates. We have stayed in the patio buildings, poolside, and beachfront.
We have stayed in some of the elite resorts on Lido Key and paid much more than what we pay at the Coquina. We keep coming back to Coquina on the Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Travelmo M.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and especially for your patronage to our hotel over the last 30+ years! We wouldn’t be here without all of our wonderful return guests year after year. Thank you again! We hope that you’ll continue to stay with us for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sparta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been here many times and love it. The entire family comes down for the week. We always stay in beach view rooms, which are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and deals with problems promptly. Steps from the beach. Pet friendly. On weekends tend to get a bit lively and noisy. Love this place!

Room Tip: Beach view and poolside rooms have kitchenettes. Downstairs rooms may be noisier depending on upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Sherry H. & Family,
It is our pleasure summer after summer for you and your family to return to stay with us! We always look forward to your arrival!
We’re so glad you all have been enjoying your vacations on Lido Beach with us year after year! We’re also glad you’ve enjoyed the updates in our Beachview Bldg, Suites.
See you all next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful feeling like being back at my Island. Many palm trees everywhere, and shade! Some rooms are kept better than others. Pool or ocean view are better than garden view. Good for family vacations, but make sure you get groceries before checking in. No restaurants or convenience stores within walking distance.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladyescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we have a senior dog and did not want to put him in a kennel.it was outdated and kind of run down but it was clean.was quiet the first couple of nights so we were willing to overlook the rest.then godzilla and friends moved upstairs.this motel will put as many people in a room as they can.pool was nice but there were tons of kids.they really need another pool.most of the time it was way too crowded.this is right on beach which is a plus.we complained numerous times about upstairs neighbors.no results.this place is good for pets and kids.get upstairs room.we are so glad we didn't get room by pool.we left early will not come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was in town on business and didn't make a reservation, as I was undecided of where to stay. After my appt, I went to Siesta Key. I enjoyed a great lunch, but found the hotels very expensive and not directly on the beach. I prefer a smaller, quiet hotel. We looked on tripadvisor and found this little place. I was a little apprehensive when I pulled in. I took a regular/standard room and after taking a walk around, decided on a pool side room. What a treat! It was older, but had tile, which I prefer on the beach and in a hotel. The beds were comfy and we were literally steps to the sand! I highly recommend this as a great little get away, on a budget. It had character and I was very comfortable staying here. If you are looking for a lot of fluff, don't stay here. If you are looking for a great value in a clean place, this is it! The little kitchenette would make it a great money saver also!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Love this place , very clean, very dog friendly, each room has kitchen , great pool right on the beautiful beach !!! Shelling is fab here!!
Stayed multiple times always relaxing and quiet!!!
Great shopping nearby. Walking distance to restaurants and bars right in the gulf!!!
It is not a loud party place which we love !!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Butterat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

It's a little tired but we had a great time. The location is great and parking is easy even if you can't get in the lot. It literally is on the beach. They even offered us a discounted rate for our extended stay. Towels provided for pool and beach. It's a great hidden gem if you don't mind it being a little dated.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joebattipaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 45 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 45 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Address: 1008 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#