We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs alot of updating; plus the crowd that comes on weekends at this price point?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coquina On The Beach
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs alot of updating; plus the crowd that comes on weekends at this price point?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I normally write only great reviews on trip advisor. This is my first bad one :(
Went to spend my birthday weekend on the beach with my partner and sister.So we had two rooms facing the Gulf by the pool. Went to this hotel since my sister wanted to bring her small dog and the hotel is pet friendly. I knew that it was an older hotel (was built in the 60's)--- So even though its on the water its not about the price but really the basic upkeep and now the crowd that comes here to "party" on the weekends.
I have to say on a positive note ALL the staff that work here are VERY friendly and VERY helpful. I am sure they have to work around alot of daily problems. The place is not well maintained--they try but its a 60's built motel with a/c that is very noisy....Upon entering the room I found that the patio door lock was broken--there are no safe deposit boxes in the room so reported it and it was fixed quickly...But then we had a room that had hot water coming into the toilet (not kidding!) and the hot water had melted the flapper so much that the tank kept refilling itself (making constant noise) until finally the toilet stopped working; reported that and they came and fixed it. But the final straw besides this and the wear and tear of the place is that there was a group staying that decided to stay up until 2am in the pool having loud conversations and if you were in a room around the pool (the beach front building and most expensive) the only remedy was to blast the a/c and fan all night and drown them out. We complained at the front desk the next morning; the staff were nice. The receptionist said the hotel next door actually called them to complain about the noise from this one group- and before the staff left for the evening at 11pm they told this group to keep it down --but alas they didnt. (Even had their small children with them up late)
Then next morning there were kids in the pool (being kids!) playing around making lots of noise and totally unaccompanied by their parents--yup diving in a pool with signs all over NO DIVING.
The final straw was another family there with two large dogs they decided that they were above the common sense rule of pet friendly means keep your dog on a leash at all times.{the hotel has signs everywhere} My sister asked them to keep their dogs on a leash--they brushed us off- yet it was OK when their dog decided to come into my sisters room?--- Watched these owners walk around with the leash in their hand but never kept their dogs leashed--running on the beach--running around the pool--coming into our place and upsetting my sisters dog who was leashed at all times outside ....
While you cant control who stays at a hotel when you are there-- we decided to check out early so did two other guests while we were there. The staff was understanding we werent charged for the 4th night (we did check out before 11am)----Then later that afternoon while waiting for our rebooked flight by the pool (in my sisters room) a new group of people with bottles of beer in hand decided despite the "no drinks" in the pool rule that they were exempt too.....
Even the very nice young lady behind the reception desk admitted to the other guests who were checking out early when we did that with such a GREAT price that they are having problems with the crowd that comes there. It is what it is! But for around a $180 a night it was not expected to be a 5, 4, or 3 star event. Just a cozy nice charming place on the beach. It was on the beach like another reviewer posted and that WAS ALL it was....
I dont know what the solution for this place would be? Upgrading; fixing it and charging more? then not such a deal? But keep those looking for a inexpensive party atmosphere somewhere else? Not be "pet friendly"--shame that the abuse of some would mean those people that do respect common sense courtesy rules like keep your dog leashed at all times would have to suffer--But there are other hotels--like the Lido Beach Resort next door (not pet friendly though) and with the internet and travel websites discovered could have had a nicer place for really the same price range/ price point. So if you dont mind older hotels with lots of things breaking down; a bit of rust etc. sometimes a noisy weekend crowd (or just come here middle of the week?) then perhaps this is the place to be. Not for us. Never again. The area I will say is nice---the beach still was a bit of a mess from Tropical Storm Debbie back in June that washed up/ churned up alot of now rotting debris. But that is not the Coquinas fault....
I feel sorry for the staff that work there. I know they are trying hard to fix things and being very friendly --but the place needs a renovation. The "excuse" of what a bargain it is --is just that an excuse since if you shop around you can find better in the same price point for at least the building that is facing the Gulf (around the pool) which are the most expensive rooms.
Live and Learn.....

Room Tip: They do not have a restaurant nor a fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Atl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Coquina on the Beach, we'd like to thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your review.
I must say, we too, are disappointed about your overall experience. As the summer winds down, we are working towards many updates and remedies to much of what you've described in your review.
I am glad to hear that the issues with your guest room were resolved quickly after being reported. We strive for a property that highlights why it is more appealing for many to choose a quaint, old-Florida and family owned beach hotel like Coquina on the Beach vs. a large resort. We will continue to work towards a more positive experience for each guest because you've provided us with valuable feedback.
I am sorry to hear that there were some other guests during your stay that were not respectful of our pet and pool policies and our other guests. When noticed or notified, we will make every effort to address and resolve any concerns or complaints about other guests that are being disrespectful of the property and our guests. We strive to provide the convenient, comfortable and charming getaway everyone wants when they come to the beach and stay with us.
Although you've mentioned you do not plan on visiting our property again, we certainly hope you might reconsider. As the crowds subside this time of year, we are taking this opportunity to work on any repairs and updates each guest room might need after the end of what has been a very busy summer season and would anticipate a very enjoyable visit upon a return.
Please contact me directly to discuss any opportunity there might be for a future visit and/or any additional comments and requests.
Kindly, - Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    71
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
108
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The rooms were clean, and we had our own balcony facing the pool and the beach. There was even a real stove and full size fridge with everything you needed to cook with. Just bring some paper plates and cups and you are all set.
I came with friends that come here every year to enjoy their time share for a long weekend vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones that look onto the beach or pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenchfirebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
On behalf the entire staff at Coquina, thank you for your recent stay with us and your review.

It is great to hear you enjoyed our cozy spot on the beach. Many guests find our fully equipped kitchens a nice surprise to a typical inefficient efficiency at many other hotels. As you mentioned, each guest room offers the convenience of a full size fridge, stove/oven, microwave, toaster, coffee pot & filters as well as all the pots, pans and dishes, too.

Thank you to you and your friends and the furry ones for your recent stay. We hope to see you all back again soon!

Kindly, - Tom, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked this room based on the reviews. I felt like I was in a different hotel because the only thing I agree with is that it's on the beach. Check in was friendly & easy. If you are looking for an up to date, resort type feel you don't want to stay here. I don't mind older, but this place really needs a lot of work & some money put into it...at the very least paint. The room we stayed in was on the first floor over looking the pool. The room was a nice size for the four of us & had a kitchen. The bathroom was dirty, the ceiling fan had layers of dust & rust on it. There was a chair that had stains on it..nobody would sit on it. The other chairs weren't any better. The beds weren't comfortable & one of them dipped into the middle. The tile floor was DIRTY to the point of having black feet from walking on it...gross. There was a big hole in one of the cupboards which made me nervous about what was going to climb through it. We went outside to sit on our patio area. There were not enough chairs for 4...even though you have to pay for 2 extra people. I called to ask how many we were supposed to have & I was told 2. Sitting outside on the patio isn't all that pleasant when you have the heat from the air conditioner blowing on your back. There was also a big family reunion going on at that time. I wish I would have been told this event was going on at this time because I would have stayed somewhere else. They took over the whole pool area with rafts, playing basketball in the pool, their stuff was everywhere, they had the grills, they were eating dinner all over the place & running around. You felt like you were intruding on their personal space & party. The pool is small so there wasn't a lot of room to get out of their way. It's a different vibe then just having the hotel full of guests as opposed to all family. In fact, the hotel was full, but nobody else was around the pool besides them. Maybe they felt the same way? You are right on the beach, but sad to say, there was tons of seaweed. We asked for a recommendation to eat outside & we were told about the Lido Beach Resort. We went for 1 drink & left. Terrible & overpriced menu. We went to Daiquiri Deck Raw Bar & we were very pleased. I would not want to stay here again because of how dirty it was. I really have no clue what rooms others are talking about...maybe they had one that was updated? it wasn't worth the money & what we expected...it was such a let down. Oh..and no free wi fi??

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Coquina, thank you for your recent stay with us and your review.

Although we're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit as much as you had anticipated, we do appreciate the time you've taken to provide us with information about what you did and did not enjoy about our property.

We are proud that our employees consistently provide an excellent customer experience for all our guests. From the moment you inquire about availability, to the check-in/check-out process and throughout your stay, it is our goal to make sure that all of our guests enjoy themselves.

While we would not advertise ourselves as an upscale beach resort, we still want to maintain comfortable, clean and affordable accommodations that our guests can appreciate and find value in. We strive to provide an a great alternative to other larger beach properties that while offering bigger or even multiple pools, a restaurant and/or meeting facilities, also offers a heftier price tag and busier feel.

Currently, we are in the process of replacing tired furniture in guest rooms as well as fresh paint inside and out. I am confident that a future stay with us would lend to a better experience as we are making efforts to invest in our property to continue to be a go-to on the beach for both quick getaways and extended stays.

Opening originally in the late 40's / early 50's, Coquina is one of the last old-Florida, family owned hotels on the beach. Many of our guests each year have been returning year after year since they were children and find themselves now returning with their own children and grandchildren, too. During the summer, it is rather typical to find many guests returning for their same rooms and booking additional rooms for friends and family, too. We do not typically coordinate or necessarily know when a group might be coming in together and having a "reunion”. We do apologize that we were unable to inform you that there may have been a large group of guests with multiple guest rooms that were congregating in a common area and made you feel as if you couldn't enjoy those areas too. Because we are a smaller, 34-room property, we do try to be cognizant of these scenarios and work with all our guests to ensure that their stay is enjoyable whether they comprise a large group or just a room or two.

We encourage all our guests to keep an open dialogue with us about any concerns and comments during their stay. We truly want to provide each guest with a great stay and if anything should come up, please let us know. As soon as we're notified, we promise to make every effort to remedy any complaints or concerns right away.

Currently, free wi-fi is available in our lobby, and we hope to make that available throughout the property very soon, too. Please check back with us. Additionally, at the front desk guests can find lots of suggestions for nearby and local faves for food and drinks that will have just the vibe one might be looking for.

Again, thank you for your stay and review. Please let me know if there is an opportunity to assist you in the future, too.

Kindly, -Tom, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Love Coquina on the Beach. Nothing fancy or pretencious here. Just casual, comfortable and cozy. Large room with full kitchen and balcony. Comfortable bed, I slept like a baby! Just a charming, small , laid back place. I have stayed here 20 years ago and returned this year. Still wonderful. Its all about the beach which is just steps from any room.
At night we took a short ride to St Armand's circle and ate outside at the Columbia Restaurant which had very good food . Loved the people watching and its a nice place for a walk after dinner. In the morning there is complimentary coffee in the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Coquina, we'd like to thank you for your review and recent stay with us.
It is great to hear that you were a returning guest with this summer. Even more delighted to hear that you found it just as enjoyable upon your return two decades later. As one of the first properties on Lido, originating in the late 40's/early 50's, we're delighted to hear guests are still finding our accommodations comfortable, cozy and casual.
Our quaint, family owned, old-Florida hotel strives to provide affordable beachside accommodations for our guests when they return year after year.
Thanks again for your review and stay! We hope to see you again a little bit sooner next time.
Kindly, -Amy P., Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went for two days and had to extend our vacation. This place is charming as it can be. If you love the beach and outdoors you better plan for more than three days trip. The place is well taking care of. Staff is outstanding and knows the value of the guests. We are planing for a five days vacation next year.

Room Tip: ASK for facing the swimming pool rooms, Those rooms also have view to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquinaGM, Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi There! Thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much that you had to extend for an additional night this year.
We aim to provide accommodations that are comfortable and convenient for our guests whether it's just an overnight stay or for a week or more. Every guest room offers the full kitchen you've described with all the pots, pans, dishes you might need, plus a refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker, toaster and microwave to prepare anything from breakfast and snacks to lunch and dinner. For next time, don't forget guests are welcome to utilize the four charcoal grills found out at the barbecue area by the pool and beach, too.
Thanks again for your recent stay. We look forward to your return next year for five days or maybe more!
Kindly, -Amy, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family enjoys staying at Coquina every summer for a week or two. We've stayed in each type of room, and all the accomodations are more than adequate. I love that even the most affordable room has a full kitchen, not just an "efficiency kitchen." Also, each room has a private balcony (for smokers) and all the rooms are non-smoking. The outside showers by the beach and also by the pool provide refreshing respite from the sand and sun, and the property's tiki hut with picnic tables and chairs is nice for some solace from the sun.

My family lives in Tampa and we recommend Coquina for it's amenities, cleanliness, affordability, and PET FRIENDLINESS ! Also, coffee is provided every day in the office and even a copy of the local newspaper, The Sarasota Herald Tribune ( for those of us who still read a printed copy).

Our last stay was in June and the only disappointment was the temperature of the pool, which was clean but oh so hot ! I, for one, want a pool that is refreshingly cool, but alas, one cannot have everything. Also, the bedding has been updated, which was one thing that our family did not like, but it's an easy way to get everyone out of bed !

Coquina is within walking distance to St. Armand's Circle, and many of the stores are doggie friendly. Even some of the restaurants have outside dining and people can bring their well-behaved pets ( on leashes, of course). Many shops have doggie cool-off stations along the sidewalks of St. Armands, with fresh bowls of water for canine companions.

Oh, one last word about Coquina - The staff is wonderfully polite, professional and cheerful. The office has a small guilty pleasure paperback library that guests are encouraged to borrow from for their reading enjoyment.

Can't wait to return in THREE SHORT WEEKS for TEN !!! fabulous days of Coquina !

Sandy

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, you might want to choose a lower level room ( the staircases are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allessandrini_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you want canned music by the pool, a fancy lobby, sterile rooms etc. don't stay here, go to a chain. But for a casual, welcoming, no-hassle place on a great beach, choose this one! It is kid-friendly and dog-friendly, but it never seemed noisy and I slept well every night for a week. I was there with my niece, her mom, and their 3 kids. They stayed in the 2nd floor 2-bedroom beachfront unit, and I had a studio unit near the office. Both had full kitchens and were very simple, but comfortable. Our June rates were reasonable, and the staff members were helpful and always smiling. We will go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLeeDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Property: Coquina On The Beach
Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing