We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST THAI JOINT AROUND”

Isan Thai Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Isan Thai Restaurant features authentic cuisine from the Northeast region of Thailand bordering Laos and Cambodia known as Isan. Owner Koong brings her home recipes to Isan Thai Restaurant, featuring items like Nham Clook that you will not find elsewhere. Isan Thai Restaurant celebrates the culture and tradition of Isan, with its delicious food, captivating folk dances, and the beautiful sounds of Thai country music. We have a separate lounge featuring quality beer and wine, an Isan/Thai-themed dining area, and outdoor dining.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“BEST THAI JOINT AROUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

There's a reason why this place is getting so many good reviews. It's really a great little Thai restaurant. It is a "mom & pop" with a nicely furnished interior, fine service and great food.

We started with the Cucumber Salad, which was large enough to easily share; it was just right. For the main course, we had the Muek Phad Prik Phao (Calamari sauteed with prik phao paste, Thai basil & assorted vegetables) and the special of flounder with vegetables. We thought both meals were excellent, although the special fish was the better choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    55
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing on All Counts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Given the reviews, three dishes tried, all not so hot. Dishes lacked pizzaz and sizzle, clarity in taste and flavor, and distinctiveness. No sense going further.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoingtoSiestaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK food, chaotic but friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

First time here and,although the food was nice, it wasn't special enough to put up with the erratic service. we arrived at 7pm and got out at 9.20pm - too long. They are nice people with the owner on hand but they need to sharpen up to make it worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thai This One On”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Authentic from the cuisine to the servers to the atmosphere, Isan Thai is the real thing. We noted that some recent reviews commented on the delays in service, but except for a short wait to take our drink and appetizer orders, service was prompt, helpful and courteous. All of the nine dishes for our group of four were excellent and the duck and sausage were delicious. A fine dinner was enhanced by the fact it was an great value. Prepare to be delighted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pad Thai did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pad Thai with scallops was reasonably priced and disappointing. The scallops were okay and at least one was not very fresh. The Pad Thai had a bland, very liquid sauce and was difficult and messy to eat. My husband liked his red curry with chicken and the serving seemed generous. He certainly didn't eat half of it.
Maybe I am judging them unfairly as I would not go back. I have eaten in Thai restaurants in other cities and enjoyed them much more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroleerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isan Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Isan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing