We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice to Have” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burns Court Cinemas

Burns Court Cinemas
Ranked #5 of 26 Fun & Games in Sarasota
Attraction details
South Venice, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice to Have”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Burns offers independent movies on a regular basis. Although small, the screen size was very good with average sound.
Seating was average old-school: no padding and leg room was tight for my 6'. Cup holders.
Concessions: popcorn, candy (No Hard candies!!!???), water, soda , beer and wine. Prices ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wheelchair Access”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is only one place you can sit in a wheelchair i.e the back row and the space is too small for a standard electric chair. As a result it can affect your enjoyment of the film and is uncomfortable when you have to ask someone else to vacate the only only space you can use. Therefore I only go if I can see a film I have missed at other movie theaters.
Only saving grace is that they have the best ginger beer in town!.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Getting seedy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The theater on Burns Court has been there for as long as I can remember but it has never been fully updated or re-done. The screens are about the size of a large TV screen and the sound from the adjoining theater is sometimes louder than the theater you are in. The movie selections are good. I like the Burns court theater at Lakewood Ranch better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank retirededward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A trendy theater that is fun to go to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been to Burn's Court several times to see some movies before they hit the local theaters. The theater has 3 small theaters inside. It reminds you of the old theaters with the old type seating. A nice feature is the ability to buy beer and wine and bring it into the theater. You don't have to have an intermission to have a nice glass of wine and see a movie. I suggest you check it out. Have fun!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great little artsy theater in unique burns square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

this little independent theater (3 screens?) offers artsy and foreign films not found in larger, main-stream theaters. delightful setting on the cutest side-street in sarasota, adjacent to "fish camp" restaurant, dwarfed by huge rainforest tree.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burns Court Cinemas also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burns Court Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing