We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Actors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe

Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe
Ranked #36 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Actors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I went to one of their performances by accident. A friend couldn't use her pre-paid ticket and asked if I would like to go along. The performance and acting was outstanding - I was amazed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

My friends and I have been Season Ticket holders for the last 4 years. We enjoy our Ladies Night Out at the Westcoast Black Theatre. The current production, Harry and Lena, was FABULOUS!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exciting and Innovative Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We saw a play about a wounded Jewish Confederate officer returning to his ruined former home and finding two former slaves helping him. The now freed blacks were brought up Jewish and worked to restore their former master's belief in religion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike_cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Saw two productions this season. Sorry we'll miss next ones but are leaving too soon. Each year, the choices and actors and direction improve measurably. It should be ranked with the other professional theatres in the area. Actors are often well known from TV and NY theatres. Direction is spot on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmsreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

One of Sarasota's best! For a thoroughly enjoyable evening of professional shows and music in an intimate setting, this is the place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing