We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Blues - CLOSED

Ocean Blues
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sarasota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have eaten lunch at Ocean Blues twice. Tried it the first time with a Living social deal and was looking forward to eating there again. The place was empty both times and I can't understand why. The food was exceptionally good and the lunch price menu was comparable to just about all the other places in Sarasota, except Ocean Blues food was much more tasty. Hope they make it because I want to go back many more times. The $5.00 martinis are fabulous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Confused on why it was so slow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went to this restaurant with 2 other friends last week. We went at like 7:30 but it was DEAD! I have no idea why! The service was good, we had no complaints. I had a foursquare deal for a free appetizer and the waitress had no idea what I was talking about but still figured it out, she did great. When the food came out it looked good and the place was really nice inside. Don't know why no one was there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Live Blues; Mediocre Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Fun spot for live music. Owner did a nice reno on the venue, however, the kitchen side has been plagued with issues since they opened. Anyone who is local has learned this. Until they get their food up to snuff, would strongly suggest eating elsewhere and they going there afterwards for the entertainment and an after dinner cocktail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NamasteSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had a Living Social Deal; paid $15 for $30 worth of food and drink.

DH and I went this past Sunday around 3:00. TOTALLY dead in there; we basically had the place or ourselves. They had a 5:30 BBQ and Jazz Festival and more live music at 7:00 so apparently everyone was holding off until then to show up. DH had been here one time for a networking event (happy hour) and said it was packed.

Anyway, the menu was interesting, especially the appetizers. We ordered to share the jalapeno ravioli (recommended by our waitress), a Caesar salad and a large pizza. DH had craft draft beer and I had the house wine to start and then a domestic draft.

The food was good; the appetizer was a nice size for sharing (8 raviolis) and it came on a bed of arugula with marinara sauce for dipping.

After eating our appetizer, the waitress informed us that they ran out of Caesar salad dressing, which seemed odd to us; also odd was that they had a Dog Fish 90 Minute draft beer listed but they were also out of that. Later, we overhead someone saying they were out of bacon. So, someone isn't doing well with the ordering!

Anyway, we didn't want any other salad plus the appetizer had done its job of filling us up. Not getting the salad meant we sat there for a while since they'd timed the pizza to come out after we had the salad.

The pizza arrived; totally HUGE ($15). We easily could have ordered the small ($10). It was very, very tasty. DH is still eating it for lunch two days later!

We'll definitely return but in general I have a gripe with how expensive draft beer is in this town (unless you hit happy hour). $6 for a craft draft? C'mon! And, $3.50 for Miller Lite. Cheese.

The house wine was $5 and they also had $5 vodka (Smirnoff) Martinis.

Service was friendly and mostly efficient. I did have to sit with an empty glass a bit longer than I should have given the fact the place was totally empty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Empress5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We got a coupon deal from Living Social for 2 salads, 2 wines, and a pizza. The salads were large and fresh and the thin crust pizza was very good - loaded with tasty toppings. We ate outside on a beautiful Sarasota evening and had great service. I wrote our servers name down, but seem to have misplaced it - believe her name was Molly, but at any rate, she was friendly, helpful, and prompt. She did a great job giving us a positive first impression and we will return. Give it a try if you want a good casual option on Hillview.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ValuesGoodValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Blues also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing