We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place!”

Sal's Pizzeria And Pasta House
Ranked #156 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: Jersey style thin-crust pizzas and authentic home-made Italian cuisine. Casual, welcoming atmosphere with table or bar seating. Wine and Draft beers are served. Delivery service is available
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Place!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Coming from a few counties away to visit the beach, my family wanted to find an Italian restaurant when we found this one online. Don't let the small place fool you. What the place lacks in "decor", they make up for with great service and great food! Everything was made fresh and had that "mom & pop" atmosphere. I ordered a "small" calzone and it was enough to feed two people. You definitely get your money's worth. I highly recommend this place to anyone. It was amazing and I will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    13
    3
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It is rare that I write about the same place twice but Sal's Pizza is just so good that it made me take a moment to reiterate just how great their pizza has remained. It is a small family run Pizza shop with a few tables in a strip mall on Gateway Ave in Gulf Gate. The pizza is thin crust-the best- and is so fresh and loaded with wonderful toppings of your choice. The antipasto salad is a killer-a huge mound of greens with fresh meats and olives..If you order a sub the bread is amazing-they make it there themselves. Who needs big chain spots when you can experience a delicious hideaway like Sal's...try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank happytraveler5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was a great local spot to get hot, fresh and delicious pizza. We had the chic me pizza which is a white sauce pizza with bacon and it was amazing. Great for families with kids. They also deliver.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hot, fresh food!!!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Being on vacation with three kids, we have to satisfy their cravings too. This is why we saught out pizza, and Sal's had great reviews, so we thought we would give it a try. We walked in and were instantly greeted and had our order taken. All of our questions about the menu were answered with no problems. We ordere three of the specials (two slices of pizza and a 24 oz. drink for $5.99, a small chicken ceasar salad, and a steak, pepper, and onion hogey). Our food was made fresh and served hot. The kids loved their pizza, my "small" salad was huge and delicious, and my husband's steak hogey was "the best steak hogey he probably has ever had". We were very impressed with the food and the service, and will definitely keep Sal's in mind for when we make it back down to the Sarasota area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferlyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really great pizza. We felt like regulars. Excellent service and catered to special orders. We will visit them again the next time we are in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 459jenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizzeria And Pasta House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sal's Pizzeria And Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing