We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful, friendly owners and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly owners and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I usually don't care much about the the personality of the management and staff as long as they are basically curteous and do their jobs. Regency was somewhat special. The guests were treated as friends and the atmosphere was very warm. I stayed there 2 weeks in February and felt very much at home. The cleaning staff was also really nice, people one could be friends with The owner Jay Patel gave me the name of a reliable real estate agent in the area, which was a big help. The air conditioner in my room was very noisy so Jay changed my room with no fuss. ..

The rooms were large and light. We had a large bed room and living room with a kitchenette. It had a full size stove and fridge. It was generally not well equipt but if you needed something I am sure the owners would provide it. There was a large screen TV in each room. The suite was newly painted and furniture was in good condition. The beds were comfortable. The carpets were clean and not stained. The wifi functioned well nd the pool was clean.

The Regency did not have the same amenities as many of the other independent hotels. There was a coffee machine and coffee in the rooms but no breakfast. It lacked a hair dryer(I did not ask for one.)and it lacked a safe. I like having a safe to store my passport and credit cards if I stay in a hotel for more than one day. I did not want to take these things to the beach. Although I totally trusted the owners and staff someone could break in.

We were only 2 people so we did not need such a big suite but after awhile it was nice to have some space. It would be perfect for a family.. I enjoyed my stay there and would probably go back again..

. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
60
81
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would like to commend the owners of Regency Inn & Suites for being very pleasant, hosptiable and always ready to provide great service. The facilities have been freshly painted and upgraded and with good reasonable prices and a convenlent location, it made for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Regency many times in the past, this most recent trip I stayed for just under a week as I was in town on business.

One of the first things I noticed this time, was that the area around the hotel was really 'cleaned up' since my last visit. This area of town had been notorious for hookers and pushers blatantly walking the streets, even in broad daylight. And although the family that runs this place has always kept the riffraff off of the hotel property, it was not the kind of area that one took walks at night. I don't know if SPD conducted a crackdown on the area or what, but I saw no vice activity during my stay this time. I had no problem walking to the convenience store next door after dark (it's only about 100 feet away).

The family that runs this property is very nice, if you have any issues they will address them for you. They will normally give you a better deal on a weekly rate. The property is old, I'm guessing a typical 1960's Florida 'motor-inn'; but they have repaved and re-striped the parking lot, repainted everything, so it looks nice and clean from the outside.

The rooms themselves are mixed bag. On the plus side, they are very roomy; the beds are very comfortable; I've never had any problems with the heat/ac units; good tv's and channel selection; excellent free wifi; and they have a microwave and big refrigerator which is really convenient for longer stays - much more room than the typical 'mini-fridge'.

My only disappointment is that the furniture (nightstand, dresser-drawers, tables and chairs) are very old and out-dated. They could really use an updating, I think it would make the rooms much more visually appealing.

There is no breakfast served here, but there are many restaurants up and down this stretch of Tamiami Trail. The airport is only a mile north; downtown and the bridge to Lido Key & beach are a short drive to the south. The outstanding Ringling Museum and Estate are very close by, I highly recommend a visit.

All in all, if you're just looking for a quiet and comfortable place to get some rest, at a price that is FAR below what you'd have to pay in this area for a Hyatt or similar class hotel, the Regency is worth checking out. If you're looking for a 'full-service' hotel, with restaurant, bar, concierge service etc., then this place won't be for you.

Room Tip: If you have a family or more than 2 people, they do have some 'suite' style rooms, with a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moneylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedareshwar, Manager at Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time and providing your feedback. We are glad you liked our service. We are working on upgrading the rooms. we hope you will hive us an opportunity to serve you again.
Thank You
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, ontrio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very good location, suites have been upgraded are large with separate bedroom and
having cooking facility is a great bonus when you are on vacation. You can have your coffee and breakfast before you start your day.

Great friendly staff.

recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherfield, East Sussex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was able to negotiate a weekly rate, which made it very good value for money. It has a good location, on the Tamiami, a few minutes from downtown Sarasota. A large two room suite with a TV in each room with basic cable. All rooms were very clean. Kitchette for cooking, plus large fridge/freezer and microwave, coffee maker. Cleaners came in daily, to change bedding and fresh towels. Good water pressure for shower. Free Wi-fi in rooms. I visited the pool which was clean, but a little noisy from a compressor and the road! Very friendly and helpful staff
Downsides - not many really - no kettle for making tea.
Will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como 061
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. Freshly refurbished roomy suites, great bed and crisp white bedding, 5 minute drive to the hussle and bussle of the city, easy access to beaches and plenty of shops and restaurants very close by. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairdo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked the Regency at the last minute and got a great price of $59. We got a friendly welcome and were shown to our 'suite'. This is an older motel/hotel, 2 levels with onsite parking, it appears it is being refurbished. We had a separate bedroom with a very comfortable kingsized bed, bathroom with a shower over the bath and a small living room/kitchen.
The suite was clean and any small issues we had were quickly taken care of.
A couple of small things: The kitchen was sparsely stocked, it would be challenging to cook a meal in it and the microwave was high up on top of the fridge...anyone below 5'6" would struggle to use it safely. No tea was available - they don't stock it. The shower curtain wasn't water proof and the shower pressure was amazing...the result - a very flooded bathroom each time the shower was used. The ironing board was impossible to close and the iron put marks on the shirt being pressed...both the iron and board were replaced for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
3.1 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#26 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#34 of 49 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 4200 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated well appointed rooms with large fridges & microwaves. Suites with king or 2 double beds with one bedroom living room with sleeper sofas and dining table, kitchen with granite counter tops, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, toaster, silverware, china, limited pots & pans for cooking. Heated swimming pool, free high speed wireless internet. Walking distance to nearby area attractions, colleges, airport, 5 to 10 minutes drive to beaches & downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing