We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“sansouci” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
kingston, ontrio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sansouci”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very good location, suites have been upgraded are large with separate bedroom and
having cooking facility is a great bonus when you are on vacation. You can have your coffee and breakfast before you start your day.

Great friendly staff.

recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    71
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
74
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherfield, East Sussex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was able to negotiate a weekly rate, which made it very good value for money. It has a good location, on the Tamiami, a few minutes from downtown Sarasota. A large two room suite with a TV in each room with basic cable. All rooms were very clean. Kitchette for cooking, plus large fridge/freezer and microwave, coffee maker. Cleaners came in daily, to change bedding and fresh towels. Good water pressure for shower. Free Wi-fi in rooms. I visited the pool which was clean, but a little noisy from a compressor and the road! Very friendly and helpful staff
Downsides - not many really - no kettle for making tea.
Will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como 061
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. Freshly refurbished roomy suites, great bed and crisp white bedding, 5 minute drive to the hussle and bussle of the city, easy access to beaches and plenty of shops and restaurants very close by. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hairdo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked the Regency at the last minute and got a great price of $59. We got a friendly welcome and were shown to our 'suite'. This is an older motel/hotel, 2 levels with onsite parking, it appears it is being refurbished. We had a separate bedroom with a very comfortable kingsized bed, bathroom with a shower over the bath and a small living room/kitchen.
The suite was clean and any small issues we had were quickly taken care of.
A couple of small things: The kitchen was sparsely stocked, it would be challenging to cook a meal in it and the microwave was high up on top of the fridge...anyone below 5'6" would struggle to use it safely. No tea was available - they don't stock it. The shower curtain wasn't water proof and the shower pressure was amazing...the result - a very flooded bathroom each time the shower was used. The ironing board was impossible to close and the iron put marks on the shirt being pressed...both the iron and board were replaced for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an older motel in downtown Sarasota. It is very reasonably priced and convenient location to downtown with very large, spacious suites fitted with full kitchens, TV's in both rooms and very clean. I was most impressed with the staff who were professional and helpful. I would always rather stay in a place like this that has personality and feels real, as opposed to a cookie-cutter hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

At first glance, this quaint little mom and pop type motel appears to be in a bad neighborhood and that was enough for me to drive right on by to another place. I'm sorry I did. After a week at the other place, a most horrible week, I decided to come here. The owner was very up front about his concerns for the area, and explained to me all of the security precautions he takes to keep his property clean and safe. I have a one bedroom suite which includes a full kitchen. I couldn't be happier with my little "apartment".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarwoodCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at this motel three years in a row, for several days each visit. From the first year I was impressed with the friendliness of the owner and staff. Very accommodating. The room was LARGE...actually an apartment size. It had a spacious living room with a full kitchenette...by that, I mean a full stove/oven, a full-size refrigerator, a microwave, a 10-cup coffee maker, dishes, utensils, and tons of cabinet space. There was a separate area for luggage and for hanging clothes, a safe, a full bathroom, and a bedroom with a massive king-sized bed, dresser and nightstands (some rooms have a larger bedroom with two double beds, and a smaller living room...so just ask for your preference). On my recent visit, they had painted the entire apartment...very decoratively...and put in a new couch, new coffee maker, and basically upgraded things to where everything seemed new. They even put in a flat-screen t.v. in the bedroom, in addition to the t.v. in the living room. They seem to be making constant upgrades to the entire property, including landscaping. Very impressive. In addition, they have a spotless pool and pool area, several picnic tables & benches around the property, a coin-operated washer & dryer and an ice machine. And, they're located close to the airport and to town, as well as very near restaurants, convenience stores, etc. Great centralized location. They're as friendly and accommodating as ever. Moderate prices for a great product, and for anyone on a budget. And, it's independently owned and operated, which gives it a personal touch. There are some questionable types that walk the street at night, but the owners keep an eye out for that and keep the property safe. Fortunately, the office, pool and parking lot separate the rooms from the street, which gives a nice separation. Thumbs up to a great operation.

Room Tip: It's a 2-level building. So, you can stay on the street level or on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
3.1 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#30 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 4200 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated well appointed rooms with large fridges & microwaves. Suites with king or 2 double beds with one bedroom living room with sleeper sofas and dining table, kitchen with granite counter tops, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, toaster, silverware, china, limited pots & pans for cooking. Heated swimming pool, free high speed wireless internet. Walking distance to nearby area attractions, colleges, airport, 5 to 10 minutes drive to beaches & downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing