We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left me wanting....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darwin's on 4th - CLOSED

Darwin's on 4th
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Peruvian, Brew Pub, Spanish, Contemporary, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Left me wanting....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This restaurant teeters on our 'worth a revisit' list. Gastropubs are small, intimate and personal experiences. You walk into to this dark cavern and immediately know that the term is being loosely used. Kudos for the live music; it was appropriate for the cuisine and yet not overpowering for conversation. What this restaurant excels in is it's commitment to fresh ingredients. Our drinks were clean, crisp and vibrant. In a world a canned, tired cocktails, their bar offers up drinks refresh and delight. Our food continued on this theme. Excellent ingredients, not overpowered by seasonings made for tasty appetizers. I had the asparagus taco and this was an example of the meals' shortcoming. The taco had one spear; it definitely would have benefitted by one or two more. My husband had the lobster appetizer and it too was lacking enough meat. Entrees were no better. My skirt steak was probably no more than 3 oz precooked. It was lost in a sea of plantains. My husband had the special and that seemed a bit more even handed with it's servings. Overall, every dish was tasty and fresh but just lacking in the main ingredient. Once the kitchen gets the balance correct, we may revisit

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRTVrMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    93
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What happened to this place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Unfortunately I will never return to this restaurant, which I used to enjoy. Between the barely present service, tiny portions and so-so food I was incredibly disappointed. We were overcharged twice on the bill and treated rudely by the staff. The entire experience was awful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I have only been here once and it was for a friend's wedding reception and the food was fabulous! We were only served bits and pieces from their menu, but everything that was offered tasted amazing! I am not too sure about the prices, but I will make it a point to revisit this place!

Helpful?
Thank Tarabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend I play golf with. Took a chance for my wife's birthday. Very pleased. The young gentleman that served us, Antonio, was very helpful with recommendations, all good. Our appetizers, Mixed Ceviche, Beef Ceviche, and the Wahoo Tira (recommended) were really good. Entrees were the Veggie Entree, Duck, Short Ribs, and the Lomita Al Jugo. All were exceptional in taste and the portions were just enough. Their deserts were a perfect ending to an overall excellent meal and dining experience. I would highly recommend Darwin's On 4th for a great dining experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service, small portions and noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and spread out. Went for dinner March 6 with another couple. We are residents of Sarasota. If you sit at the bar forget about conversing. The music by the stage performer was overwhelming .
Why must music be played so loud ? Truthfully, I don't get it. No one likes yelling to converse. The waitress was very sweet but took care of a number of tables and was slow. I had the skirt steak. It was very tasty but at 27 dollars extremely small. House salad was good. My friend had the Tuna which was good but also a very small serving. Rolls are tiny little buns with an unusual taste and texture. The only thing worth the money was the hamburger. If you like presentation you will like this place. If you want food to satisfy your appetite which is adequately portioned this place is not for you.
A nice trendy place with nice ambiance . I wouldn't go back.
Also, if you are going to show the open kitchen at least have the workers wear attire that presents a higher image .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwin's on 4th also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing