We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and Popular”
Review of Darwin's on 4th - CLOSED

Darwin's on 4th
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Trendy and Popular”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to Darwin's four times already. It is in a restored warehouse building and the floor to ceiling beer vat behind a glass wall in front lends to its character. There is a second floor table seating balcony area over the bar. It is only open for dinner and they absolutely don't seat before 5 PM.Reservations are recommended, especially "in season" and if you're dining after 7 PM.There is adequate parking and the neighborhood is quite safe. The atmosphere inside is very appealing although it is a little on the dim side after dark. Unless you are an expert on Peruvian cooking, you'd better ask before you order. The waiters/waitresses are very helpful and knowledgable. Be sure to ask if they have any home-made Sangria (it is not on the menu, only bottled). One of their staff makes it at home in his kitchen. It is fabulous! All the desserts are wonderful so save some room for one. If you're into beer, they have an interesting "sampler" of 3 oz. glasses where you can try an assortment of their designer-brewed varieties. For those not in the mood for dinner, the large bar area is quite popular for martinis and $5 tapas dishes. If you like to converse, better come in before 7 PM on Friday and Saturday when the bar area gets quite noisy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavlonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    93
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding dinner”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I decided to have a small intimate wedding with our parents and close siblings. We picked Darwin's for our dinner as it is one of our favorite places in town. From the moment we contacted them to make our reservation they did everything in their hands to make our dinner special. We spoke with one of their managers Matt and he arranged a meeting in person to go over the details. Jasmine called us to verify our reservation and made sure that all was all set for the day. As we arrived there they had us all set on the previously discussed area upstairs and ready to on our way to a great dinner. Antonio was our server for the night. He made sure that everyone in our party was taken care of and everyone was happy. All went without a hitch. Our cake was delivered prior to our arrival and they took great care of it. They displayed it when requested and provided everything to ensure the cake cutting was appropriate. The rest of the staff were very friendly and also very helpful on making our night special. Our families thoroughly enjoyed the ceviches for appetizers and some of their plantain chips to munch on prior to our great entrees that were presented beautifully. We envisioned our wedding day to be small,intimate and simple while being beautiful and special. We took care of the ceremony before hand, and Darwin's totally delivered the dinner experience to go with that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2trvl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best food in Sarasota by far”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten everywhere in Sarasota and Naples and this place was a surprise. We loved the Peruvian food Pork chop was amazing and desserts were awesome. Beer selection is best in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrtimothyCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“New Orleans meets Peru in Florida: Outcome, sunny”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Charming space in Sarasota which has a hopping restaurant scene in the lovely downtown area which has been renewed with spark and verve. This place has fabulous ceviche and a New Orleans-style vibe. Very good bar, very good service, come and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peruvian with flare”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Have brought guests to Darwin's for the past year and the cuisine, service by well informed waiters and atmosphere are all excellent. Chef Darwin is a master of ingenuity who creates a caliphony of tastes and flavors for his diners. The on site brewery is equally as goog producing world class craft beers. This is the best restaurant in Sarasota.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tennisnut s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwin's on 4th also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing