We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of Darwin's on 4th - CLOSED

Darwin's on 4th
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ellicott City MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Read such favorable reviews about Darwin's, I don't feel it lives up to its hype. Service was punctual, waitress was very knowledgeable, interior was fitting. However the noise level was deafening, could not carry on a conversation with my husband. The cuisine...our appetizers oven roasted pork taco and the spring roll were awesome. The entrees fell short, the Article char was very good the maki roll that accompanied the fish was really just so-so. The Arroz co Mariscos was a major disappointment, the saffron rice was mushy and the seafood was very bland. Would I give Darwin's another try probably not. On a final note the valet needs to lose the attitude. His rude behavior did not make a very good first impression.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    93
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent DInner”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took a chance and made a reservation at a perivuan restaurant. I have never had this type of food but loved it so much. The table shared mussels, cerviche. Had the short ribs other guests had fish. All was excellent. They also had entertainment going on we were there on a thursday so much fun

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I both enjoyed the food, which is a creative Peruvian blend of Latin and Japanese. My stir fry with tenderloin, tomato, onion and cilantro was excellent. Quinoa appetizer with duck, shrimp, pork and plantains was excellent. The only disappointment was the beer. We are from Asheville where local micro-brew beer is taken very seriously. Darwins beer was mediocre. I tried two different beers. On the plus side, my wife's Nutty Macaroon martini was great - chocolate, frangelico, vodka, etc.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very nice! Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and gave us some great suggestions. Food was great as well as the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrobertfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Craft Beer, great food and ambience”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I can't rate this place high enough. If you enjoy creative and well made craft beer and excellent food, you must experience Darwins. Brewer Jared Barnes who has trained in Germany and at Seibel, brings his impressive credentials to Sarasota and craft beer lovers are very fortunate to have him in town. Brewing is an art and a science and Jared has them both down as well as any brewer out there. From experimental brews with exotic ingredients to the sublime Double IPA, it just doesn't get any better. Add to that highly talented chef/owner Darwin's creative and delicious Peruvian dishes and an excellent staff and you have a world class gastronomical experience that is not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwin's on 4th also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing